We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bite to eat.”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just a bite to eat.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We were pottering about Caenarfon and we told about this place by another tourist. I was incredibly impressed by the quality of the food. Yes, the prices may seem steep at a glance but 18 quid for a steak isn't that bad in my opinion considering its local fresh produce. I had the burger which was priced around 11 pounds and was floored by its breathtaking size and amazed by the flavour and intensity of this juicy burger(I also has the extras option of cheese, bacon and onion rings). If you want the best onion rings you've ever tasted then come here. Don't listen to the naysayers, if you want something cheap and cheerful, look elsewhere. If you enjoy great food and what I consider a reasonable price then come here. 5 stars, incredible, flabergasting food and great atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
You have got our ambiance in your review , we are not a run of the mill Inn or corporate box. Meals are when we can all fresh local produce. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    265
    56
    10
    12
See reviews for
188
672
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My partner and I spent three nights at the black boy inn,and found it to be excellent the staff were very friendly, the food was good,and the rooms were clean,the only downside was the car park very difficult to get in and out if you have a long car,or if the car park is full,but otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACHARELL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review , as far as car p[ark it is shame but they had horses when designed . Please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Black Boy manages to be a pub for tourists as well as provide a good local pub to the community. It’s a good pub, with real ales, stone walls and low beams, and it’s all for the same prices as you would find anywhere else.

And it’s a lot more than that, offering as it does about ten comfortable rooms in a traditional Welsh setting, each one different and with its own price. If you’re staying for the night, ask if a four poster bed is available. To top it all off, its dining room makes it a restaurant of choice if you’re in the area looking for a good meal. It’s very popular, and you would be well advised to call ahead for a reservation if you don’t want a long wait.

Room Tip: See if a four poster is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review , and hope you return soon. Just to clarify though the Inn has 16 rooms , Black Jacks 10 and the new Ty Dre 13 . All the rooms are different as you state .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked a lunch time meal as a party of 4. On arrival we were shown to our reserved table. There was a good choice on the main menu plus a very good specials menu. 2 of us opted for this menu and we were not disappointed. We chose the very reasonably priced mini mixed grill which included steak, gammon, lamb chop, sausage, black pudding, egg, chips & veg. The menu states that the meats come from a local butcher, and it was very tasty indeed. The 3rd meal was a curry which included rice, chips or half & half, nann bread & onion bhagies (sorry about the spelling) and the 4th meal was a delicious child meal of sausage mash & veg. We were attended to very quickly and the meals were out in good time. All the staff were friendly & efficient and were good at their job. We had taken a small birthday cake for one of our party, and this was brought with our coffee. We have always had good meals & service at the Black Boy, and have never been disappointed, so we can't understand some of the comments we have read on this sight regarding food. Looking forward to our next visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Best to book a table at lunch time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are also looking forward to your return visit , and thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time! Staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was huge with a lovely sized bed and great bath too! The food here is wonderful, very generous sized portions and all home cooked - so tasty! The location of the Black Boy Inn is good, parking can be tricky sometimes but it is easy to get to other places from here, we ventured to Anglesey and Betws-y-Coed. For the adventurous people. ZipWorld is about a half an hour car journey away and well worth doing if you fancy an adrenaline rush! Plenty of lovely walks nearby and Caernarfon castle is round the corner from the Black Boy Inn too, which is worth a visit. The only teeny tiny downside was the fact our room was above the coach house and during breakfast time the coach house door was loud as people came and went... But this was not enough to cause us any bother! Overall a very lovely stay and we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyFCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for the review , hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked via Expedia 10 days before our stay. The rate was very good and less than the advertised rate on arrival. Check-in was slow. When we got to our turn, we were told without apology that there was a problem with the room we had booked; excuses ranged from we rang yesterday and it had been damaged overnight (how then could they have known when they apparently rang) and we could not stay there. Without eye contact, we were informed that we had to pay them and then they had booked a room at the big hotel in the town. We weren't told it's name or given a postcode, just go back to the roundabout and turn right "it has a swimming pool" (really useful when you thought you were staying overnight in a B&B with no swimming pool to hike Snowdon!). The new room had been booked in the wrong name and the rate was a LOT cheaper than we had paid! So, no apology for the inconvenience and a profit was made to send us to a different hotel. Unbelievably awful experience and would most definitely not recommend.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel - the biggest one in the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JIG81182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I can only apologize for the mishap with your room , we did indeed have room damage that i can guarantee , and you are correct that it was 2 days previously and was supposed to have the repair completed on the day of your arrival . This was unfortunately not possible due to waiting for new sink.
With regard to your agent booking , we are under contract to charge the price you booked at . This is normal practice in hotel industry if overbooking or problem. All the agencies use same system as per room bookings .
As regards the manner you were informed were the other hotel is i can only apologize , this will be corrected in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beware! - They cannot honour their Amazon Local deal - as the ROOM (!!) included in the deal has sold out - however you can stay if you pay an additional £100+ for an upgrade - That is not a deal!! I am very disgruntled as I purchased this as a birthday break early March and as the offer is valid until the end of May it is not as if we have left it until the last minute to try and book. Con!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bigalshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I apologize for the Amazon 2 night deal. We placed the deal on Amazon and did not appreciate the interest it would create , the rooms that we had allocated for this were sold out within 2 days for weekends . We as you rightly stated offer an alternative room type as upgrade this has suited a lot of people .The amazon deal was new to us as well this year , and when we relaunch later in the year more rooms will be made available for the take up.
Again i can only apologize for your disappointment due to the high take up of offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing