We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welsh hospitality”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights here and had a wonderful stay. Comfortable room, great breakfasts - the kippers were delicious - friendly staff, and two very good evening meals. Would happily stay again and would highly recommend. We had a room with a well equipped kitchen area, which gave us the flexibility we wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJogdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We thank you for the review and look forward to you returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
There are newer reviews for Black Boy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely welcome, fabulous room, fabulous location, fabulous evening meal in the restaurant, fabulous breakfast........basically we had a fabulous time!!! Thank you so much, we can't wait to come back and visit again x

Room Tip: Room 51 in the annex is just superb.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissyw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for the review , please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We arrived in Caernarfon for a weekend break and on our initial exploratory walk around the town we stumbled upon the Black Boy. When we entered the public bar it was crowded (always a good sign), but managed to find seats at the bar and enjoyed a couple of pints of Welsh beer. This is a real "olde world" inn with real fires, dark cosy interior, oak beams and all the atmosphere of a busy old style country tavern the likes of which seem to be rapidly disappearing in the 21st century. The service from the bar staff was excellent. As a result of this initial visit we returned a couple of evenings later, without having booked, to have a meal. Not surprisingly the restaurant was pretty full but the excellent staff immediately found a table for us in the adjacent Coach House where we enjoyed a superb meal of freshly cooked food (the stew was fantastic) and beautiful wine all very reasonably priced at around £38 for two people. We later tried to book a room in order to return later in the Spring but were not surprised again to find that the hotel was full. For sheer quality of service, food, drink and atmosphere this place is unbeatable; a "must visit" for all travellers to Caernarfon. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for this lovely review , so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn.The Black Boy is an original Inn , we try very hard to keep it as an original as we can . But we do try and bring the modern twist as well in technology.Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed for a few nights at the Black boy in February and what a wonderful comfy place to stay and eat. A place full of atmosphere and history coupled with very friendly and easy going staff and top notch food this was always going to be a winner. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms which was like going back in time apart from the 32' TV on the wall, remember these rooms are hundreds of years old so expect the odd creak and groan. The food was fantastic and well worth the money, lots of choice and very filling, as was the full Welsh breakfasts of a morning. The bar is small but well stocked with lots of variety, the locals were always willing to chat and as soon as they realize you are English etc they revert from speaking the local Welsh language to English so you don't feel like an outsider and left out. We visited the castle and expected to be in there about 20-30 mins, just under 3 hours later we came out, definitely good exercise if nothing else with all those towers! The only slight negative is the very small car park but saying that any competent driver should manage the tight spaces, word of warning though do not park under the city wall at the back, we made that mistake and the seagulls had a field day, it took two laps of the car wash and an ice scraper to remove some very substantial bird 'muck'. All in all a lovely place for a break and stay, will have no qualms recommending the Black Boy Inn and will return again one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for this kind review , I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn .And we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked a two night stay through amazon as a treat for my husband's birthday. Right from the start, booking our room, was a delight, the staff are wonderful, very helpful and can't do enough for you. We arrived before checking in time, but this wasn't a problem. We had lunch in the bar with a couple of glasses of wine and were immediately relaxed. The room in Black Jacks was lovely, spotlessly clean and with all the home comforts you need. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and couldn't find fault with anything, the food was delicious, plentiful and reasonably priced. Breakfast is served in the coach house and was wonderful. We won't hesitate to visit this treat of a place again, very soon I hope!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if staying in Black Jacks and you're not too good on stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for the review .I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn. This is one of the first Amazon deals we have done , we did not expect the response that we had . We sold out after a couple of days due to sheer volume of bookings. We have apologize to customers who failed to book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We planned to go away for a few days to caernarfon and the receptionist at our hotel recommended the black boy inn we were not dissapointed! They do not take bookings after half 6 so may need to wait but it is well worth it. The food is all local and the standard of the food is great! The portions are rather huge but so nice, a shame I couldnt finish it all. A meal for two and a bottle of wine cost £42. A very reasonable price for such a lovely evening!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank foodie9227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for the review , we do get a lot of local hotels sending guests to eat with us . This and the fact we have high local trade makes it difficult to take bookings after 6.30pm. We will fill the dining areas at this time and are unable to predict when these tables will become free for next sitting . Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We were pottering about Caenarfon and we told about this place by another tourist. I was incredibly impressed by the quality of the food. Yes, the prices may seem steep at a glance but 18 quid for a steak isn't that bad in my opinion considering its local fresh produce. I had the burger which was priced around 11 pounds and was floored by its breathtaking size and amazed by the flavour and intensity of this juicy burger(I also has the extras option of cheese, bacon and onion rings). If you want the best onion rings you've ever tasted then come here. Don't listen to the naysayers, if you want something cheap and cheerful, look elsewhere. If you enjoy great food and what I consider a reasonable price then come here. 5 stars, incredible, flabergasting food and great atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

You have got our ambiance in your review , we are not a run of the mill Inn or corporate box. Meals are when we can all fresh local produce. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
432 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing