We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and interesting and atmospheric- you must pop in for a drink”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Only went in for a drink but loved the look of it

sign outside does warn that it is old and therefore has uneven flag floors from days of yore -
which is totally in character with the place and should stay, so if you are a tad unsteady on the feet then do go slowly. Inside full of beams and fires and lovely staff who although they did not have any Welsh wine ( imagine somewhere in Wales must make their own wine so I thought I would ask ) they did say they would look into it for future reference so that was encouraging to be listened to from pleasant staff

( they did have a tv on sports channel but sound off so could ignore it )

visited the ladies room and rather wondered if it would be basic barn door with very old plumbing , however totally top range refurbished and spotless toilets that you would expect of a top class hotel, - well done - a very good contrast of new and old providing the best of both worlds.

Although we did not have time to eat, I did observe another table being served some good looking food and would make an effort to stop there for something to eat if I'm ever in the area again.

Certainly worth popping into while you are having a look round the walls and visiting the castle. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Lovely description of the Inn really hits the right points . Thank you , please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
There are newer reviews for Black Boy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Black Boy for three nights at the end of April 2014. As we booked at the very last minute we could not get a room in the Inn but were accommodated in the Ty Dre Town House Annex round the corner. The annex had only been open for a few days and was superb! Our room on the top floor was lovely, a very large and extremely comfortable bed, a great bathroom, spotlessly clean and carpets so plush our feet sank into them. We were given a free parking permit for the Slate Quay car park. We had breakfast in the main Inn and had evening meals there too. The food is brilliant, a good and varied menu, very delicious and served quickly, we would recommend to anyone even if not actually staying there. The staff are very friendly and courteous, the service first class. A fantastic place to stay and will stay again if we are in the area. Well done Black Boy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Ty Dre or town house is our newest addition , similar to Black Jacks in its room types and design .So glad you enjoyed your stay at this new House. Thank you for the review please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is always busy and we were lucky enough to get a table in the bar on a bank holiday Monday evening. The food was delicious. The Sweet Potato chips are to be highly recommended. Huge portions. I don't know how they ever manage to sell desserts!
We didn't stay so can't comment on it as a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for the review , so glad you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is possibly the busiest Coaching Inn in which we have ever stayed. It was non-stop in the bar and restaurant all day (and all evening). The restaurant is always booked so book ahead if you want to eat. They do overspill in the "snug" and the bar but the bar is not comfortable for eating and is very very noisy. The snug itself is very attractive and has a good atmosphere but is still full of movement with a quick turn around of food and people and hard to find a seat to relax in. The bar is even more so - obviously very popular in town and very busy - the people were welcoming and friendly and chatty but as said very noisy. The building itself has been extended very sympathetically and almost seamless from old to new and very attractively presented. Our room was a late booking and small (which we were told about so no problem). Everything was there that we needed and it was comfortable. The biggest attribute of the inn was its staff - without fail everyone was helpful, friendly, more than on top of their job - bar staff moved at speed never seen before and still smiled. Downside for us was lack of separate room in which to unwind and absorb atmosphere away from that level of bustle and food but be able to chat more quietly to people This is personal to us and we know many people will enjoy this level of activity and possibly a Coaching Inn was not the best for us. This is in no way detrimental to the standard the inn is offering but may help others. One final comment is that the food is as said hearty, not as good as we hoped, and our breakfasts were not very hot.

Room Tip: we stayed in smallest room (we had been warned so no problem it was fine). we stayed for 3 nights w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Averil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Your review is appreciated and i do understand your comments completely as regards the busy trade at the Inn.It can get really busy here in the summer months due to the location and the high local trade we have . Thank you for staying with us we hope you do return .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We didn't stay here we just came here for a little snack, the food and service was excellent but the menu didnt have all that much of a choice and was a tad expensive. its a quaint little pub ideal for history lovers, we will be coming back again its just a shame the menu lets them down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for the review , i must assume you did not see our main menu as it is very large plus the daily black boards.Please return when you can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Black Boy Inn over Easter weekend.
Every single member of staff were so friendly and polite. When we ate at the restaurant, the food was lovely and we wasn't waiting long at all for our food to come out
Our room, wow, what can I say?! It was bigger than our flat and it's the best night sleep I've had in a long, long time.
How busy the pub and restaurant was goes to show how popular it is with everyone.
You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here!! We've already booked again to go next Easter, but this time we are taking my mum and dad!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay , please come back soon.It is a very old Inn and the staff work so hard to keep the welcome and hwyl as we call it in welsh .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great old inn - we were in room 51 and it was a fantastic room. Service was spot on - food great and plentiful especially after walking up Snowdon. Staff were great - helpful and polite - genuinely seemed to care about the guests having a good time.
Will definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 51 - very spacious. Great room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

This review is much appreciated , i will pass on all comments to staff. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
431 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing