We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed here twice on business but both occasions have been a pleasure. Great location lovely rooms, friendly staff and excellent food. I ate in the bar and ordered the mixed grill which could have served a family. Will definitely stay again when I have business nearby.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for lovely comments , I am so glad you enjoyed yourself at the Black Boy .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for just one night, In room 60 of the Black Jacks building behind the pub. £ small flights of stairs. We found the room excellent with a large tv. This does make a change and to have more than free view on the box. Comfy comfy bed.
The room had a kitchenette, basic stuff, would of liked a cafetiere. Bath size: big, this was a bonus.
The pub had a great atmosphere along with the rest of Caernarfon. Food was great, busy place, but great service.
A place to return to , but needed longer than 1 night and day. Lots to do in Caernarfon.

Room Tip: Room 60, Large bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jayenManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Please come return again and stay a few nights more, thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Black Boy Inn for a short UK break in June. We arrived early and were directed to the “overspill” car park near the castle. This was not an issue for us as the walk to hotel was only 2 minutes.

The Black Boy Inn itself is a wonderful property. It is a traditional hotel/B&B and has lots of charm and character. We found all staff members to be extremely polite and welcoming. All gave a truly high level of customer service.

We stayed in an exec double. The room was traditionally decorated. It had a big bed, large sized bathroom and great TV (useful for catching bits of world cup when getting ready to go out). Bathroom and main room with seating area had all the facilities we expected and needed.

Breakfast was served in the coach house restaurant. The main waitress was friendly and accommodating every morning. There was a small buffet section, we only had the fruit juice from this as we ordered tea/coffee and cooked breakfast from the menu. The cooked breakfast was exceptional, real quality produce and well cooked.

The bar area is great with a range of hand pulled beers and the property also benefits from a busy outside seating area to the front however the real gem is the secluded courtyard beer garden which due to the excellent weather we had during our stay we were able to make use of a lot.

We dined at the restaurant once at lunchtime and on two evenings. We found it to be great quality traditional food, although the food portions are somewhat on the large size. Evening service was busy and was somewhat frenetic however the head waitress dealt with it superbly. Sadly on both evenings mussels were unavailable.

There are a couple of constructive comments that we would like to raise. The food smell from the kitchen extractor fan was noticeable at times in our room with the windows open, it was too hot to close the windows, this is unavoidable due to a busy kitchen. There was also some maintenance work being done in the rear entrance to the courtyard, which didn’t look good seeing tools out etc, again unavoidable if improvements are to be made. Neither of these impacted at all on our experience however I could potentially see that these could be issues for other guests.

Caernarfon is a beautiful small town. Caernarfon Castle is a must visit. The Menai Straits 40 minute cruise from next to the castle was very pleasant and ice creams from Palas Caffi were excellent. There are also plenty of attractions only a few miles drive away and the surrounding area is simply stunning. We managed to visit Snowdon, Anglesey and Plas Cadnant (Hidden Gardens) a beautiful location for a nice short walk and has a very good café.

This was an excellent short UK break, helped by the excellent weather but also made wonderful by the whole experience at The Black Boy Inn. Whilst not normally ones to return to places (too many other places to see) if the Black Boy Inn can maintain its current standard I think a return visit for a short stay will be due. The visit will have to coincide with a delivery of mussels though as we have unfinished business in this regard…

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

What more can i say ,thank you so much for this review .I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our room was not in the main Black Boy Inn, but around the corner in what appears to be a very new (refurbished) building. Both are in the center of town. The room was spotless, and serviced well each day. For us, breakfast was an additional charge each morning (other rooms or payment options may be different). Parking is provided free-of-charge a short walk away, on the other side of the castle. The carpet was plush, and everything seemed very new. Shops and restaurants are within a one-minute walk.

Room Tip: Room 75 is up one flight of stairs. It is a large room, with two twin beds which can be pushed toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for review , all our premises are within easy walking distance of 5 minutes from car parks etc .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Parking was easy, though awkward to begin with. You need to stop and ask where you are allowed to park. But it's not clear where to stop so initial parking rage with another stroppy customer wasn't the best welcome.

If you arrive early, you're actually asked to leave your car on the public car park by the castle which by onsite parking standards, is not onsite.

Very comfortable room 4. Though sleep not great, quite noisy. Though is not specifically asked for a quiet room, we had the noise of the bar emptying at night, clanging about in the morning (don't know what they were doing but bit inconsiderate when there are bedrooms above) and heard all the noises of our neighbours in their bath.

Food v good. Can't book table after 6.30 but had no problem getting a table on a Friday night. Breakfast was very good.

All staff really helpful and friendly. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your comments , glad you enjoyed your stay . We have 39 available car park spaces but we need to fill carefully as if we make error or a customer refuses to go into allocated spaces it can cause problems for later arriving guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for one night in this lovely, historic Inn.
Booking was easy online, complete with a detailed map on how to find the Hotel.
On our arrival we were greeted by the helpful reception staff as well as other staff who happened to walk past us. We were allocated a parking space just down the road in a public car park, not a problem.
We were shown to our room, room 6, up through characteristic and interesting oak beam stairs and corridors to our lovely room. The room was clean and well equipped, spacious with well stocked tea and coffee facilities, a huge comfy bed complete with a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was also clean and fresh, light, great power shower and again well stocked with bathroom condiments.
We dinned in the bar, the food was excellent, with locally sourced produce served by friendly bar staff.
The breakfast again was excellent with a huge choice on the menu, the full Welsh breakfast is a must !!
I have to say the town apart from the castle doesn't have much to offer, but a good place to use as a base to drive out to different areas.
Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Our room was classed as 'Executive' which was to a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yona67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed the Black Boy Inn and i will pass your comments on to all staff .
Thank you so much please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent three nights in the town house and loved it. Food in the Inn was excellent and we were spoilt for choice - and good value for money. Staff very helpful, rooms clean and newly decorated. We stayed an extra night and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stelious A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review , please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing