We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The pub is outstanding just inside the city walls. The exterior is all beams and wonderful window boxes, very attractive. The pub has a small car park to the side with gated access by keypad. The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite large with very modern bathrooms ours actually had a bath and not just a shower. The bedlinen is top quality and fresh quality towels everyday. It was quite easy to get lost in the maze of corridors and breakfasts are taken in the building at the rear, difficult when the heavens open as they frequently did during our stay. Perhaps a few umbrellas would be helpful. We were surprised when we were told that we could not book a table in the restaurant but had to speak to the manager at 6:30pm in the corridor by reception to see if there was a table available. That said this must be the most popular pub for food that I have ever seen with over 60 tables in various locations and all full. The first night we ordered our food and waited for 40 mins whilst other tables who ordered their food after us were on main courses! The waitress had not passed the order to the kitchen, apologies but no offer of a free drink! When the food did turn up it was vast and fantastic probably the best beef and ale pie I have tasted. A quick walk around the town a nightcap and off to bed. However the noise from the outside eating area kept us up till near midnight with windows closed! This is a lively pub and part of the atmosphere but be warned. We suffered the same fate the next night as well until rain stopped play. The breakfast menu is vast and very varied which once again tripped up the waitress who got both our breakfast order wrong. That said we really enjoyed the breakfast which were well cooked and quickly served. The waiting service was again to fail on the second nights meal with a bottle of wine missed from the bill. I am an honest person and questioned the bill and was rewarded with a reasonable Malbec charged at the house wine price. Overall the hotel is very comfortable and nicely decorated but let down by sloppy waiting staff. The food however is fantastic and is clearly why the pub is so popular. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lotus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback .We are indeed a very busy Inn , with up to 750 meals served on some days . I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and the quality of meals. With regard to waiting staff , we do employ a large number of students as we are a seasonal business .So please accept my apology for the let down in service on this occasion. The Inn does employ up to 85 staff in summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed and ate here on a recent trip to Wales. The staff were friendly with nothing being too much trouble for them. There was a vast selection of food available on the menu and each dish was tasty and plentyful. The rooms were extremely well kept and modern.


I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are passing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Situated within the old walled town area of Caernarfon near the castle the Black Boy Inn was a perfect place to stay on our recent visit to North Wales.
The Inn itself, built in 1522, is a perfect example of olde world charm with its low wooden beams (watch your head) twisting narrow corridors and winding stairs but beautifully maintained. The bars are something to behold with a large range of local and international drinks. There is also an outside bar area where you can sit and watch the world go by.
The food is exceptionally good and is a favourite amongst both visitors and locals alike. The staff are also polite, friendly and efficient.
Our accommodation, an executive room on the top (2nd floor) was was large, clean and comfortable and comprised a large kingsize bed, large flat screen TV and all the required trimmings. The bathroom was also a good size with modern fittings.
Drawbacks would be the steep narrow stairs and low beams but then you can't have an authentic 16th century inn without them. The only other criticisms would be the noise coming up from the outside patrons below (if you had your windows open) but this stopped of course when the bar closed and the fact that we had to park our car a few minutes walk away in the castle car park.
There is no charge for this parking for hotel guests.
All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Black Boy Inn and would thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay. We hope to return one day when visiting the UK again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you very much for this very good description of The Inn and its services.Please return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited the Black Boy Inn from a recommendation and it was well worth the visit. We ate from the specials board- steak with welsh rarebit. I asked for both steaks to be done medium and both were done to perfection and identical! I would echo the recommendation we had, and say when in Caernarfon you must eat at the Black Boy Inn.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank laketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for the review , please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I visited with a view to having a drink (as we've done for years) and eating elsewhere later but the food we saw coming out looked simply excellent and we indulged! We had the 'Ploughman's' and this is a dish that should be classed as a 'National Treasure'; it was magnificent and without doubt the best I've ever tasted. Please don't change it; we're back next year.
The only complaint was the volume of the -unnecessary- music: there's atmosphere in spades without it but it was turned down on request.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frohlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We tend not to change anything unless it is for the betterment of the majority of our customers.So thank you very much for the review and hopefully we will be exactly the same next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Our suite was spacious, the food was excellent, and it's right in the middle of town. Great water pressure! Friendly, helpful staff. The hallways were made for small people though.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for the review , as you see definitely the real olde Inn here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

At the end of the alley into the walled city, BBI is not the only pub in town, but you won't go wrong eating here. The fact that they have Leffe on tap was a benefit, but the fish and chips tasted fresh and chips are better than average for the style. A ham and cheese toastie was enormous and well stuffed. All enjoyed it and went back just for a beer the next day.


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank sleggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,040 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing