We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and lovely staff”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Over a two day stay in Caernarfon (staying at the Travelodge) we ate here 3 times - 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner.
The food on all occasions was fantastic, and very generous portions. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
Will definitely visit again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you very much , as you are coming back to Caernarfon please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Advised to visit the Black Boy Inn by Premier Inn reception staff. Delicious fish chowder crammed with all things from the sea and rest of family had mussels caught locally and a huge portion of them even for the side order size! Lovely, helpful staff in a beautiful setting with beams and inglenook fireplaces. Well worth a visit - eat early as it gets packed later in the evenings!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Mike Hughes our local fish supplier in Caernarfon supplies Marius our head chef with as much local produce as he can . Thank you very much for review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Wow wow wow! Visited on a day trip and I have got to say this is the best meal I've ever had. Portion sizes are massive. Prices are reasonable. Staff are so friendly. Place is spotless! I would recommend to anyone and I will definitely be returning.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Please come back soon to this lovely Inn , thank you very much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My father and I stayed in this hotel as I was racing at Anglesey Circuit which is about 30 minutes away. Having left things late in terms of finding somewhere to stay, this was the only decent hotel that I could find at such a late stage.

The Black Boy Inn has been an absolute find and a gem of a place to stay. The rooms are clean, the food fantastic and the setting (inside castle walls!) is out of this world. However, the thing that stood out of me was the staff who were always willing to help and went out of their way to make sure that everything that we needed was catered for.

The person who best exemplifies this attitude was Vicky. Nothing was ever too much trouble for her and any request we made (and there were many) was seen too very quickly.

Thank you Vicky.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelphiSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for this feedback, i will pass your comments on to Vicky and the rest of the staff.Please come back to the racing soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we spent one night here, but wish we could have stayed longer, the place is lovely, ideal for sight seeing. The room (or should I say suite) was lovely, comfy, clean and had every thing you need.
The staff are soooooo friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.
We booked a meal, and am so glad I did, it was busy, and they were having to turn people away. The food was fab, well cooked,and presented well, everyone we talked to agreed. The breakfast was the same, a good choice, and again excellent.
When we got home, I realised I had left something behind so I got in touch Andrea found it, and is sending it me in the post, shame it's not nearer to where we live, as it would have been a good excuse to have another wonderful stay there.
The only thing is alot of steps to the rooms, so if your not good on your legs beware, and low beams, and check before booking for a easy to get to room. But don't let this put you off...........go, and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bracken58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Your review is so appreciated .I will inform Andrea as well as all staff. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great hotel, full of character. Old building, so lots of stairs, maybe not good if you have poor mobility, but lovely room, huge emperor-sized bed, good facilities. Excellent food, very good staff, all family or connected, I think, very pleasant and helpful. Good bar with tables outside, good vibe.
Free parking at the harbour (not far) and free WiFi.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, good value. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, beware if you have difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for the review , so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn.You are correct in all your points regarding the Inn. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent a day in Caernarfon, and the night at the Black Boy Inn. Wonderful little city and absolutely great hotel. Really old building with narrow, steep stairs and low beams everywhere, but our room- actually three rooms- was utterly up-to-date with a large modern bathroom. Two large flat screen tvs. Breakfast was the best we've had so far in Wales. We'd happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mgertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We are unique in that it is a very old listed building it ,retains its character even though we have added modern facilities.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,089 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £59 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing