We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Caernarfon”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Caernarfon”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just a quick review as so much good stuff has already been written by so many before. We were a party of five taking two rooms in Black Jacks behind the pub for three nights. Black Jack's are some tall town houses across the courtyard from the other parts of Black Boy's semi divided into suites rather than rooms. Our's, Room 51 was exceptional, a very big bedroom with four poster bed, a separate kitchenette, and large bathroom with big bath and shower. In the kitchenette was a microwave, fridge and sink and possibly more but we preferred to eat out, in Black Boy's for breakfast and dinner later in the day. In peak season make sure you get in for dinner early because everyone else seems to have read Tripadvisor and wants to eat there too!

The Black Boy is perfectly located within the old town walls, close to the castle, seafront, town centre, other pubs and restaurants. Staying in Black Jacks it was perfectly quiet and we slept well in the wonderful four poster.

Food and drink at The Black Boy was very reasonably priced. And I would have paid more for our room in Black Jacks. The place was spotlessly clean. But I suppose that should be obvious. Because the outstanding quality of the whole place, apart from its location, charm, and food, is that it seems to be extremely well run. All the staff we dealt with were excellent, without exception. It's clearly an excellent team that made our stay a pleasure and ensured our Finnish friends and ourselves had great memories of Caernarfon.

Room Tip: We liked Room 51 in Black Jacks with it's four poster and quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pentlandpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely detailed review .We hope you will come back soon to this lovely Inn. I will pass on all your comments to all staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    277
    56
    10
    12
See reviews for
191
689
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

City centre hotel good for walking around town, the Castle and the marina. Own car park although access is a bit tight. We ahd a junior suite with 4 poster, surprised it was a new room and could have been any modern hotel. Room very clean and spacious and quiet night apart from seagulls in the morning! Guests don't have preference on booking dinner and we were put in the coachhouse which is ok for breakfast but soulless for an evening meal. The portions of food were massive, you certainly don't need starters. Ok for one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Please come back out of season for the quieter atmosphere as in peak season it will be full in all rooms every day . Surprised you did not like the suite as a lot of our guests prefer , but like us all we have our own preferences .Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here on 9th of Aug. The building is full of character and our room was really roomy and the bathroom had obviously been updated recently - very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would suggest you book ahead if you want to eat in the dining room (we had to wait for a table to come free) or park in the nearby car park (we had to park in the public car park by the castle).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback , you are correct that the Inn is very busy and therefore you cannot just
assume there will be a table free in dining areas. We serve up to 750 meals a day in peak season so it naturally creates a waiting system. Car parking in Caernarfon also has issues for all accommodation providers , we have 39 rooms and 39 spaces as we fit each car in to the allocated spaces . Early arrivals are requested to use main castle car park for which we pay a yearly charge. This car park you are able to exit at any time , but entry is only up to 6.30pm so therefore we use
this one first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Over a two day stay in Caernarfon (staying at the Travelodge) we ate here 3 times - 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner.
The food on all occasions was fantastic, and very generous portions. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
Will definitely visit again next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much , as you are coming back to Caernarfon please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Advised to visit the Black Boy Inn by Premier Inn reception staff. Delicious fish chowder crammed with all things from the sea and rest of family had mussels caught locally and a huge portion of them even for the side order size! Lovely, helpful staff in a beautiful setting with beams and inglenook fireplaces. Well worth a visit - eat early as it gets packed later in the evenings!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Mike Hughes our local fish supplier in Caernarfon supplies Marius our head chef with as much local produce as he can . Thank you very much for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Wow wow wow! Visited on a day trip and I have got to say this is the best meal I've ever had. Portion sizes are massive. Prices are reasonable. Staff are so friendly. Place is spotless! I would recommend to anyone and I will definitely be returning.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Please come back soon to this lovely Inn , thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My father and I stayed in this hotel as I was racing at Anglesey Circuit which is about 30 minutes away. Having left things late in terms of finding somewhere to stay, this was the only decent hotel that I could find at such a late stage.

The Black Boy Inn has been an absolute find and a gem of a place to stay. The rooms are clean, the food fantastic and the setting (inside castle walls!) is out of this world. However, the thing that stood out of me was the staff who were always willing to help and went out of their way to make sure that everything that we needed was catered for.

The person who best exemplifies this attitude was Vicky. Nothing was ever too much trouble for her and any request we made (and there were many) was seen too very quickly.

Thank you Vicky.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelphiSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for this feedback, i will pass your comments on to Vicky and the rest of the staff.Please come back to the racing soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing