We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice features food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice features food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Whitebait over cooked not fresh which was a disaointment , fish crumble had a lot of liquid as if it had been frozen and recooked so not good either. Thought it was worth another go as reviews were gud so did breakfast . Was ok but nothing special?!?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gillyirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Sorry about your disappointment , we do try to provide as much fresh produce whenever we can .
The whitebait is normally delivered so cannot understand the not fresh feedback.If you feel we have not met our normal standard please accept our apology as you can see we normally get lovely reviews as regarding breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    261
    55
    10
    12
See reviews for
186
657
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Did not stay in the hotel part but we are already planning on our next visit to do so (a good place to stay when using Anglesey track!)
We had dinner, very tasty steak and ale pie, chicken stuffed with black pudding and a child's lasagne.... Honestly it was all good. Nice sauvignon Blanc, bar service was friendly and the actual bar itself was amazing, full of character. We came back for breakfast the next day and the ladies serving were happy and polite. We discovered another bar!! It's an Aladdin's cave :):)
My five yr old had fun playing in the playground next door (suppose you could call it over the "road"). And we were happy to wait for a table to become available.
Thanks for a great stay we'll see you in the spring:-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Looking forward to your return in the spring and provide you with the same service and quality.Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Someone recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed! The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was plenty of variety on the menu and the food was delicious and extremely reasonably priced. The portions sizes were good, so much so that we couldn't manage a dessert! Maybe next time ;)


We will definitely be back

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RachJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
There is always a next time so please come back soon and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there three nights while visiting snowdonia. Lovely hotel in an amazing setting. Caernarfon itself is beautiful too.
Food was great. Breakfast was amazing with huge portions of everything.
Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rojw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for the review , please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just had the most amazing meal here at the Black Boy with my family. There was 7 of us dining at the food, service etc was spot on!!! Would like to say thank you and we will be returning again soon x Julie and family x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so glad you enjoyed your time at the time Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just a quick review as so much good stuff has already been written by so many before. We were a party of five taking two rooms in Black Jacks behind the pub for three nights. Black Jack's are some tall town houses across the courtyard from the other parts of Black Boy's semi divided into suites rather than rooms. Our's, Room 51 was exceptional, a very big bedroom with four poster bed, a separate kitchenette, and large bathroom with big bath and shower. In the kitchenette was a microwave, fridge and sink and possibly more but we preferred to eat out, in Black Boy's for breakfast and dinner later in the day. In peak season make sure you get in for dinner early because everyone else seems to have read Tripadvisor and wants to eat there too!

The Black Boy is perfectly located within the old town walls, close to the castle, seafront, town centre, other pubs and restaurants. Staying in Black Jacks it was perfectly quiet and we slept well in the wonderful four poster.

Food and drink at The Black Boy was very reasonably priced. And I would have paid more for our room in Black Jacks. The place was spotlessly clean. But I suppose that should be obvious. Because the outstanding quality of the whole place, apart from its location, charm, and food, is that it seems to be extremely well run. All the staff we dealt with were excellent, without exception. It's clearly an excellent team that made our stay a pleasure and ensured our Finnish friends and ourselves had great memories of Caernarfon.

Room Tip: We liked Room 51 in Black Jacks with it's four poster and quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pentlandpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely detailed review .We hope you will come back soon to this lovely Inn. I will pass on all your comments to all staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

City centre hotel good for walking around town, the Castle and the marina. Own car park although access is a bit tight. We ahd a junior suite with 4 poster, surprised it was a new room and could have been any modern hotel. Room very clean and spacious and quiet night apart from seagulls in the morning! Guests don't have preference on booking dinner and we were put in the coachhouse which is ok for breakfast but soulless for an evening meal. The portions of food were massive, you certainly don't need starters. Ok for one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Please come back out of season for the quieter atmosphere as in peak season it will be full in all rooms every day . Surprised you did not like the suite as a lot of our guests prefer , but like us all we have our own preferences .Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing