We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldy worldy, great fun.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Boy Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oldy worldy, great fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just returned from a three night break at the Black Boy and what a great little inn this is. Friendly helpful staff throughout the establishment, from reception through to bar, restaurant, and upstairs staff. Excellent food at dinner and breakfast. We counted at least five different nationalities in one bar on our first night, I'm guessing it's the age of this property that attracts the foreign visitor, but once you've stayed you will want to go back. Complimentary parking by the castle is also very handy. All in all a great place to stay, central well appointed rooms and a lovely super king size bed. Will I return..I very much hope so.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Black Boy , please do come back soon.And thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    255
    53
    10
    12
See reviews for
181
646
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We make a regular journey to Morfa Nefyn. On this occasion we had to make a late journey on Bank Holiday Saturday and it suited us to stop for dinner in Caernarfon. The day before a quick look on the web gave us the Black Boy Inn but they did not take restaurant reservations after 18:30. Made a call to see what our chances were and we were reassured by a very helpful Delwyn that we would be able to eat although there may be a little delay but to ask for him on arrival. This we did and we cannot thank him and the other staff enough. The customer service was excellent! What about the food? We had a superb meal and although a busy bank holiday the quality of was excellent. Being so busy it must be a well organised kitchen to produce meals to such a high standard without delay.The menu and specials were usual pub/restaurant favourites with some
inventive additions all at normal prices. This was supported by a very good selection of wines and local ales. We will certainly call in again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Please do call again . And you are correct that in 40 years in this trade.And running group of 8 Pubs and hotels which were all busy , i have never seen a kitchen so well run, and producing the head count of 750 meals a day .Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stopped here for breakfast on recommendation of campsite we were staying at, so glad we did, hit all the right spots. Enjoyed it so much we booked to go back for dinner a few nights later and again couldn't fault anything, lots of choice, huge portions and brilliant friendly staff would definitely go back next time we are in the area

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOC345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much , please come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanko, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Okey, so now I came up with the first downside of travelling together with my good friend (TA member "pentlandpirate").. he gets his review written before me and then I have nothing more to say! ; ) well, seriously, most things he wrote I can agree with but for me it was quite pricey. But I realize it was high season so that's ok.
We (2 adults + one 9-year old) had room # 60 at the Black Jack's part and it was as good as a new, fine town apartment. Very nice. The bed was too hard for us though, way too hard. Ventilation would not be bad either, the air was quite thick in the mornings.
I also need to explain my title for this : ) I have done my fair bit of travelling, and as I am a poor sleeper many things have kept me awake around the world.. music, screaming people, wind, rain, waves.. all kinds of things.. but this was the first time the seagulls woke me up every night! Well, I guess I just should have had some more wine before I went to bed ; )
All in all the Black Boy Inn was a fine experience and I also enjoyed the restaurant and bars very much. Would recommend it to a friend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basse911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for review , Glad you enjoyed your time here ,even if the seagulls woke you up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Good to stay in the walled town. Nice room with small kitchen and table meant we could make our own tea. Breakfasts excellent. Had Welsh breakfast one day, boiled eggs another and tried the vegetarian one as had grilled, pineapple and aubergin plus welsh cake. Nice to see some variety for vegetarians. Lovely evening meal in a very popular pub one evening. Parking at hotel limited but you are provided with a free pass to quay car park right next to the castle only a short walk away after dropping off cases. Great staff very helpful and good location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Diolch, thank you for the review please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've only ever eaten in the restaurant and each time has been enjoyable. would normally save this place for a special occasion. Food is good, I always seam to have the curry. I would defiantly recommend it. Menu is in both welsh and English (welsh first). I think the only thing that lets it down is the desert menu. Staff are pleasant enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for review please return soon . We will change the sweet menu at end season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Black Boy Inn is deservedly busy with locals and tourists, we stayed two nights over a long weekend and The Black Boy Inn was fantastic in every respect. The four-poster room was superbly appointed with all the expected facilities, dinner both evenings was excellent with generous portions and the staff were all very friendly. The restaurant doesn't take bookings but you join a list for a vacant table ...... it's worth the wait to enjoy a drink (about 20-30 minutes) for an extensive and varied menu of marvellous food with great service .... all expertly coordinated by Delwyn, arguably the best maître d' in the world. - Diolch yn fawr iawn

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Diolch yn fawr i chi .I will pass all comments on for you and especially to Delwyn. Please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing