We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favoloso! Discerning diners of Caernarfon you must try this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Caernarfon

Osteria Caernarfon
Ranked #12 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Talyllyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Favoloso! Discerning diners of Caernarfon you must try this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

If your idea of an Italian meal out is pizza, cannelloni or bland spaghetti then Osteria is not for you!!! Here they serve the real Italian simple fare and it was utterly superb. We started with a large platter of cold meats and authentic Italian cheeses and a honey dip with a sort of deep fried bread and to be honest I cannot recall exactly what we ate apart from that it was delicious. My partner had a piping hot pasta dish sprinkled with Tuscan sausage and I went for baked stuffed aubergine – both were very good and in fact mine was so big that I took half an aubergine home and enjoyed it for lunch the next day. What a great reminder of a memorable meal out! It was good to meet the Italian chef and she explained the refreshing thinking behind this restaurant – the cheerful waiter was knowledge and thank goodness he steered us away from having ordered the big platter of meats, cheeses and vegetables. With a bottle of crisp white wine and a few glasses of mineral water the £50 bill was incredible value for money. To the new bambini of the Hole in the Wall Street we wish this fun eatery 'buona fortuna'!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowdoniatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    39
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Birthday bash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Birthday again, since I was working the following day I didn't want a late night, so down on the bus to Caernarfon, and see what's available. We called in at Osteria on the way down to the quayside, and they had an empty table. Forget the menu, ask Paolo what he recommends, and go from there. We were not disappointed with a huge platter of Italian meats, cheeses and so on. Absolutely delicious, and a light cheesecake as desert complimented the meal. As usual impeccable service, really good food, and reasonably priced. Happy birthday to me!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerallt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Authentic Tuscan food with great service, certainly worth a visit! The owner takes time to explain the menu & the food is of a good quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales. UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“RECOMMENDED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic meal & wine at Osteria last night-HIGHLY recommended.
3 course meal for 6, ( 3xPasta dishes,1x stuffed Bell pepper & Caernarfon platter for 2, bottle of red + 3x glasses of wine,4x soft drinks + 2 Perronis,only £120!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply delicious food, chilled atmosphere & lovely owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Mum & I popped in for lunch last Saturday & were so delighted we had chosen this tiny unassuming little restaurant. The staff / owners were welcoming, helpful & enthusiastic about their food, rightly so, it was just delicious! Had a pasta dish from the specials board that was full of fresh flavours, delicious & light. The restaurant itself only has 3 tables upstairs & down but it meant wd got chatting to the people on the table next to us & it was just lovely. We will be returning here for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Caernarfon also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Osteria Caernarfon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing