We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caernarfon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bron Menai Guest House
Ranked #5 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top Notch Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and thought Bron Menai offered everything we wanted. Reasonable sized room in very good condition with a newly fitted en-suite. Bed was very comfortable. Our room overlooked the main road so there was some traffic noise but this was mostly negligible except for the occasional large vehicle. Breakfast was good and plentiful, hosts pleasant and helpful. Lots of attention to detail made us realise they cared about making the guest experience a good one. Location is good in that Caernarfon centre is easy walking distance for eating, harbour, castle etc. It also has its own car park behind the guest house. Caernarfon itself is rather disapppointing looking somewhat neglected with many closed and run down properties but it does make a good base for getting into the Snowdonia mountains.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crammy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
53
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Originally booked at Premier Inn but had to cancel and thankfully unable to re-book. Chose Bron Menai from the internet with out checking Trip advisor and what a good choice.
How refreshing to receive a warm welcome, personal service and a room, -no a mini suite, immaculately clean and comfortable.A freshly cooked breakfast and served by Mrs Ashcroft who certainly remembered our name! Jealous friends at the Premier Inn paid the same for the room but paid extra (through the nose) for a poor breakfast and for parking!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The house is lovely and the flower and garden is beautiful. The dining room for breakfast was very nice. Location is great for walking into town or along the promenade. We felt that our hostess was not very sociable and was not interested in even knowing our names.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cece s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The location was close to castle and town centre.
We were offered a double room for £65/ night at the time of booking. On our arrival we realised that the rate was actually £55/night as displayed on the tariff board. The bathroom was small and only had a shower no bath!
We had noises coming from next door till the late night. I would just hope that they had thicker walls as I'm not interested in hearing stuff going in other rooms.
The breakfast was fine. staff was polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for one night, the owner was very welcoming. Lovely room, spacious, spotless, great shower, slept really well. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saralou0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The receptionist was very efficient and helpful, but not very sociable. The bedroom was large and comfortable. The car park driveway was extremely narrow flanked by walls, but the carpark was secure. The guest house only catered for coach group bookings for dinner, which we found misleading and inconvenient. It was a short walk into the city but very hard to get into restaurants without a booking. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

we stayed at the bron menai in june this year and had a very nice stay we found all the staff very friendly and efficient the room perhaps a little on the small side was clean and comfortable with tea making facilities the breakfast was tasty and plentiful next time were in the area we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#4 of 22 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron Menai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron Menai Guest House

Property: Bron Menai Guest House
Address: North Road, Caernarfon LL55 1BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron Menai Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bron Menai Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing