We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cracking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

A very warm welcome on the phone and in person, John even made space for my car!

Room was very nice, with a nice view. Breakfast was brilliant.

Everythign was excellent, however, we stayed in room 5, and the shower was very very fussy between hot/cold.

Thanks

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    38
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
142
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

Fantastic location right inside the city walls within stone's throw from the castle. Very friendly hosts with really yummy breakfasts. Clean & comfy rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Ruby_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlhingan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

Pretty place, GREAT location, good food, not-so-nice hosts. While I realize that we are guests in someone's home, we felt like we were putting them out the whole time.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlhingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

Excellent on all counts: location, friendliness, good food.
Our family of 5 (with teens) loved this place and really felt like we were "right there" as located within the walled city.

Helpful?
Thank 5familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Caer Menai Guest House is located inside castle walls. Parking is diificult along narrow quiet street, but free parking is available one block down from B&B at marina. Parking lot has security cameras.
Walking distant to castle and marina promenade. Be sure to watch the sunset from the promenade.
Host John and hostess Sandy are fantastic owners with quiet and friendly loving dog Kody. Don't miss Kody.
We had the family room for three (room No. 4). Fresh smelling room, nicely decorated, plenty of room, plenty of towels, and comfortable single and double beds.
Bathroom was spacious with good water pressure and temperature. Can tell owner takes pride with their B&B.

Minus: Not enough rope hooks to hang wet towels. Small tv, but typical in England with limited channels. Forgot if they got internet connection or not.
Would return at a heart beat. Prettiest B&B on the on the block.

Thanks John, Sandy and Kody!

  • Liked — Clean B&B
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#6 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast

Property: Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caer Menai guest house is situated in a quiet cobbled street within the old town walls of Caernarfon, just a few minutes walk from the castle, promenade, shops, restaurants and bars. We have seven letting rooms, a mixture of double, twin and family rooms - all en-suite. All the rooms have a (silent) fridge, complementary drinks tray, bottled water and fresh milk. Large fluffy towels, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries can also be found in every room. A full cooked breakfast is available to all including fish dishes, porridge and lighter options along with a full buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and breads. Whilst we do not have a private car park, free parking is available on street as well as 2 free car parks just a few minutes walk away - luggage can be dropped off at the house first. We can assure everyone of a genuinely warm welcome to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed And Breakfast Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing