We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

....made an enjoyable and a very pleasant stay in what can only be described as a well equipped double room. Each morning we had a varied choice for breakfast, from cold to hot, all freshly cooked, well presented and full of flavour, complemented by an excellent pot of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Had a one night stay between doing Mount Snowdon Railway and Caernarfon to Porthmdog by steam train. Great room, very comfy with nice shower room. Fresh milk and bottled water in a silent bedside fridge for teas and coffee. Great welcome on arrival with tea and biscuits provide in the guest lounge. More than happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJAlONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We loved this place. Fantastic central location, our room overlooked the castle walls - what a view! Beautifully appointed room, with everything we could possibly need - fridge, tea supplies, fresh milk even chocolate biscuits! Really friendly owners too. We loved the location. Based ourselves here for a few nights and then roamed the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieCat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I had a lovely stay at Caer Menai. The hosts were very welcoming from the start. As for the room, it was super, with a nice big bathtub and lots of bubble bath, so I indulged twice during my one night stay! There was fresh milk in the fridge and lots of nice biscuits as well as tea and coffee. The cooked breakfast was excellent- including some tasty black pudding as well as the usual fry-up. Caer Menai is well located, just inside the old town walls and maybe 5 mins walk from the Castle. It was also an easy walk to the Welsh Highland Railway on the day I left. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkPBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Excellent location, room, view and proprietors are really friendly and helpful.
Couldn't recommend more highly.
Only tiny niggle, shower temperature wasn't the best, but then the building is quite old and can sometimes be the case. But the room was lovely and we had an excellent view of the sea.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you will need one of the 2 rooms at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The B&B is beautiful. Inside the old walls of caernarfon castle and walking distance of some great spots. The room was great. Cleaned daily with fresh towels when needed. Karen and Mark made us feel more than welcome and the cooked breakfast really sets you up for the day. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Managed to park almost opposite the guest house. Stayed one night in the family room, double bed & bunk beds. Very clean fresh & compact, but then it was only for sleeping in so not much space needed. Flat screen TV, Fridge with complimentary bottles of water & jug of fresh milk. Kettle with tea coffee, hot chocolate & chocolate biscuits. Big fluffy bath towels, hair dryer, shower gel, even foamy face cleansers. Everything you need if you're travelling light. Mark & Karen were very friendly. Breakfast was amazing!! Choice of fresh juice, yogurts, cereals, tea coffee, toast & full cooked breakfast cooked to your requirement. Excellent location within the castle walls. Walking distance to the harbour, which was handy as we dined out at Fu's restaurant in the harbour. Would most certainly stay there again and most defiantly would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
448 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
206 reviews
0 mi away
Victoria House B&B
Victoria House B&B
#1 of 21 in Caernarfon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: £54 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caer Menai guest house is situated in a quiet cobbled street within the old town walls of Caernarfon, just a few minutes walk from the castle, promenade, shops, restaurants and bars. We have seven letting rooms, a mixture of double, twin and family rooms - all en-suite. All the rooms have a (silent) fridge, complementary drinks tray, bottled water and fresh milk. Large fluffy towels, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries can also be found in every room. A full cooked breakfast is available to all including fish dishes, porridge and lighter options along with a full buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and breads. Whilst we do not have a private car park, free parking is available on street as well as 2 free car parks just a few minutes walk away - luggage can be dropped off at the house first. We can assure everyone of a genuinely warm welcome to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed And Breakfast Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing