We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Chef At LAST!”
Review of Plas Derwen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Derwen
Ranked #6 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Recently visited as news off a new chef has arrived! Vast improvement! Food was well presented, hot & very palatable. We enjoyed every morsel off our meal & hope to once again make this 'our' local pub, been sadly missed. Keep up the good changes with the food & bar staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Plas Derwen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our room was a very generous size (shame about the tiny TV) and a love a feeling of space. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, clean and the shower was fantastic - really powerful. Shame about the space at the end of the bath. Just made the room look sparse and unloved. A small shelving unit would have looked good. However, very happy with the room. We had a couple of nice evening meals in the pub. The staff are very pleasant and welcoming. However, the breakfast is very below par. Mini boxes of only the basic cereals - no granola or muesli. The fruit provided was very poor, just a few slices of melon and pineapple. About 8 strawberries on the first morning. No plain yogurt, just fruit yogurts. On the second morning there were peaches and a few slices of melon. On the third morning, melon and a few grapes. I have been to many many hotels and B & Bs in my time and certainly these days, even in the basic inns, there is generally a very good spread of fruits/yogurts/muesli or granola. I would also expect cold ham and cheeses. I am used to seeing a very good spread for breakfast in all hotels and this one was very disappointing. I took most of the fruit and I never saw them replenish it. The eggs were overdone and cooked breakfast doesn't live up to the hype. We were never offered any toast and we have never been anywhere, where toast is either available from a cook your own toaster or it is offered routinely and brought to the table. A very meagre breakfast, which lets down an otherwise very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

our family has lived in the area for a long period and over recent years we have visited this pub for good 'pub grub' and usually it was very good.
We tried a number of local places tonight for a meal, however, these were fully booked, we tried this pub even though we were briefly put off by the lack of customers, giving it the benefit if the doubt.
Firstly a lot of the food was not available, then our order was 'forgotten' and compromised with something else as a mixture and then when it arrived, my meal was undercooked and my partners meal was not very pleasant.
Overall this is such a fantastic location for good pub food however the food recently has completely let it down. We will definitely not be returning, and after speaking to a number of family and friends, their review seems to be the same of late.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sophie1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K, Manager at Plas Derwen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your experience or food whilst visiting our restaurant the other evening, we have very recently taken over as new managers and are keen to follow up on any feedback given in this transitional period. I myself was not working that evening so would like to discuss this further with you if possible and offer you a complimetary meal on us to come back and visit so that we may show you the experience and standards we are striving to achieve. I would be greatful if you could contact me direct either by phone 01873 853144 or email plasderwen@sabrain.com to discuss further, sincerely Kate Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked here very last minute, actually the evenening before our stay and were pleasantly surprised. Room and bathroom in the annex were very spacious and absolutely spottless. On opening the tap the water was very hot instantly. If I was to name a downside it was that the room had no actual window(s) except for a skylight. Having said that it did not at all feel dark or dingy. Altough we had not planned to visit here we were pleasantly surprised with Abergavenny especially as Plas Derwen is located just a ten minute walk from the town centre, therefore it is easy to go there if you want. Parking is absolutely no problem at Plas Derwen. Dinner was good altought the chairs in the restaurant/pub are not really comfortable. Breakfast is good, on the downside there was no yoghurt as the delivery was not made yet, the upside of that is that products come in fresh regulary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchcouple040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Taking Tripadvisor reviews into consideration, we decided to overnight stay at Plas Derwen in Abergavenny.

The room was spacious and well furnished. All usual items were catered for; tea/coffee, hairdryer, FS TV and bathroom liquids etc. A good shower.

The beds were comfortable though a little firm for our liking (but we always carry mattress toppers around with us wherever we go!!)

The room was quite warm with the hot weather we have been experiencing. Again, we always carry a fan with us in hot weather and even though it doesn't cool the room down, it keeps the air moving.

Our room, No 10, was in the annex and was very quiet. The rooms are becoming a little dated but were spotlessly clean.

Th e breakfast the next morning was nicely cooked. Compliments to the salmon and Scrambled eggs. They were excellent. However, if you are a coffee drinker, beware. The coffee is very strong.

Would we stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We called in here after some friends had mentioned it. A nice place with ample space in the bar area and restaurant. Very nice food. My Wife loved her Sunday lunch, which came with a good selection of vegetables. My only criticism is the restaurant gets quite warm in the hot weather, as it is similar to a conservatory They could do with some ceiling fans, or some air-con.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wales1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and sat in the lovely garden, in the sunshine. We just had a sandwich and a drink which was delicious . The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant very clean. Will return for an evening meal sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Seren1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.6 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
909 reviews
3.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
328 reviews
3.6 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Deri-Down Guest House
Deri-Down Guest House
#7 of 30 in Abergavenny
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing