We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Derwen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Derwen
Ranked #8 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wedding celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently had our wedding reception and evening celebration here. We also stayed the night, as did several of our family.
Kate, Adam and their team helped to make it a special day for us. We were impressed from the start by the warm welcome we received and the warm and cosy atmosphere of the hotel.
We had a basic idea of what we wanted which Kate helped us to develop with some excellent suggestions regarding choice of food, seating arrangements and lighting for the evening.
The standard of food both at the reception and the evening buffet was excellent. We chose lamb for the main course and the chef took the trouble to contact us beforehand to ask us how we wanted it cooked. We asked for medium rare and it was cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the staff were very tolerant of some rather boisterous small guests.
The staff were particularly helpful, offering to decorate the rooms on the day to our bridesmaids' exacting standards! ( relieving them of a last minute task in their finery)
The rooms were excellent and spacious and with a shower that worked and was hot (something not all hotels posess in our experience!!). We missed breakfast but those not too hung over to make it assured us that it was superb.
The grounds provided a picturesque backdrop for photos...and space for boisterous children to run off surplus energy (some hopes!)
All in all we cannot fault the venue or the staff. They made it a perfect celebration of our day. Many of our guests (those who were sober enough to remember) were impressed with our choice of venue and the food provided, not to mention the beer of which copious quantities were consumed.
You made it a brilliant day! Thanks Kate.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are particularly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    65
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
59
86
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Only kgw65@outlook.com across the road but went over tonight - the night before May Day. When we got there at 8:10 we were told the foie stopped at 8pm. However, ?Kate said you can order if you want which we were both glad about.

Superb food and a void atmosphere. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've just spent 3 nights here on a business trip. On arrival, the check in person was really friendly & helpful. She showed me up to my room rather than just telling me where it was. I asked for a jug of fresh milk which she brought up straightway. She also told me the restaurant times in case I wanted a meal. The room was lovely. Nice decor and perfectly well maintained. Super powerful shower too.
In the restaurant I tried their Celtic pride rib eye steak and it was probably the best steak I have ever eaten. I asked for medium and it was cooked perfectly. Breakfast was good too. Cooked to order and served on hot plates. I tried the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - generous helping of both.
Quite close to the town centre, it took me about 10 mins to walk.
Almost perfect hotel - except for two things - the free wifi is very poor. No reception in the restaurant, very poor reception in my room. I found it difficult to get a good Vodafone signal anywhere in the town, virtually no signal at all in my room, having good wifi would have helped me keep in contact with my family. Two, the dreadful easy listening music which was piped throughout the downstairs. It was truly awful and there seemed no escaping it.
If you're looking for a clean, friendly, hotel with excellent food and plenty of parking in Abergavenny I can't imagine you'd do better than Plas Derwen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuesdayChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring,England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here on a few occasions during the past couple of years, most recently for two nights in mid March and had several meals in the restaurant during these visits and at other times. This time in particular I found the staff to be welcoming and efficient both at check in and on leaving as well as when serving in the restaurant at breakfast,lunch and dinner.Perhaps the odd less than happy demeanour on display but overall bright and cheerful.No mistakes on the billing either. The room prices even by standards hereabouts seem very reasonable for what is an an extremely convenient location near the station and within walking distance of the town;all the rooms I have stayed in were spacious and comfortable with good housekeeping standards evident.Comfortable beds.Three minor criticisms-the bathroom lighting is too dim and the carpets would benefit from renewal in a few places.The exterior of the hotel at the rear of the property together with parts of the annex need a fresh coat of paint to cover the peeling facades.
Dinner and lunch were both excellent with good quality ingredients and seemingly a chef who was well up to the mark especially in relation to the competitive prices charged here. Much better in fact than a few more expensive so called gastropubs I can recall.Eat early in the evening as I did on one occasion and you might feel a chill in the dining room-no not the atmosphere- but because the heating does'nt come on until later,about 8 if I recall.Plenty of parking.Uniformly good service in the restaurant.Competitive drinks prices probably in keeping with the ownership of this inn by a large brewery concern.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedInsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

On a very rainy Sunday night as we turned into the car park we were a little unsure as from the outside the place is badly lit and a bit uninviting..However on walking through the door we received a very warm welcome and were served up some lovely food in very pleasant surrounding. Will definitely return again and maybe even stay next time

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

In the area for business I stayed here for the first time on a very cold very wet night. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the atmosphere relaxed and welcoming, the room warm and comfortable and the food excellent. Am already recommending to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel two consecutive nights each month for two years whilst attending a course in the area and couldnt fault it. Owners and staff were always so welcoming and friendly. Food was fantastic EVERY time and breakfast was beautiful.
Rooms were cosy and homely.
I highly recommend this hotel and will definately visit in the future when im in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natashaj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.6 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Property: Plas Derwen
Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing