We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very disappointing sorry.”
Review of Plas Derwen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plas Derwen
Ranked #7 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food very disappointing sorry.”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Didn't stay so can't comment on rooms. Generally pub very clean and tidy, and nicely decorated, however.............................

Mushroom starter at £4.25 - 2 small "stuffed" mushrooms with a bit of greenery to fill the plate!!! Oh, and a very inappropriate chutney.

Garlic king prawns at £4.95 - where was the garlic?

Stuffed pasta main course - pasta served in a bowl with salad, most unusual.

Lamb steaks - still chewing them now!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddiethedog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    70
    31
    21
    6
See reviews for
64
92
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

What a delightful hotel this is. The room was clean and modern and spacious. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The price of our stay was extremley good value for money. The restaurant menu was varied and reasonably priced and the food delicious.
My husband and I stayed here as we were taking part in a ghost vigil at the Skirrid Mountain Inn which was not finishing until 4.00am. This hotel was perfectly placed (10 minutes up the road) and the staff even offered to put us in the most quiet room.
I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Just a single night stay, arriving late and departing early.

The restaurant offers good value (often locally sourced food) though the portions appear strictly controlled. Staff were friendly though a little timid, except for the cheerful management who were on the scene and welcoming the customers.

The (main building) bedroom was fine (spacious, mostly clean except a dusty telephone) though showing its age in some areas. Windows retain their period shutters, a nice touch.

The TV, though flat screen, only had 3 english language channels plus the welsh language S4C.

I came back for lunch later in the day which wasn't so good (stale roll).

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We only stayed here for a night but would love to go back. The Plas Derwen is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Abergavenny. The bar and resturant do great evening meals and lunches which seem to be very popular. The accommodation is just behind in the main building and is purpose built - it has been very well done though. The rooms and beds are large, clean and have everything you need. Parking is easy. The breakfast was great and cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Liked — Large, clean rooms. Friendly service. Fantastic breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthuk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.6 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
862 reviews
3.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
499 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Property: Plas Derwen
Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing