We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So Friendly!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jlo250
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So Friendly!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed 1 night, but were made to feel so welcome by Colin.
The room was lovely, enjoyed having a soak in the gorgeous roll top bath and great having the walk in shower for my husband. Breakfast was fab, sat having a chat for a couple of hours with good company and fresh coffee.
Room was spotless. Sarah gave us good instructions on how to get there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast.

You stayed in our superior room on the 1st floor. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess78
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely farm house with good size very clean rooms, good shower and comfortable bed. Great location if you are looking for a quiet pastoral surroundings. Great host and excellent breakfast!
There is a nice pub about 5-10 minutes drive from the farm where you can eat a lovely meal and the farm is about 10-15 drive to the nearest village. Recommended!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you for your delightful review.

I am pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us. Glad the directions were helpful. As we are in the countryside we email our guests directions before their stay to ensure that they don’t get lost.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjmall
Stratford on Avon UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome in the Hillsides...”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed 29th and 30th August in the master bedroom at this delightful rural B&B. The room is bright and tastefully furnished and decorated, with views to Sugar Loaf Mountain. There is a large bathroom en-suite with roll top bath and walk in power shower. Food is great and the whole house is spotless. However the major attraction is the owners absolute determination to ensure that all his guests get value for money and enjoy their stay. We often stay at chain hotels, but Celyn Farm gave us all the comfort we expect, plus genuine Welsh character and charm. We highly recommend and we will most definitely be going back. Don't forget to take the directions with you, sat nav only gets you to within 2/3 miles.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. I am so glad that the Celyn gave you comfort, welsh character and charm. So pleased you hear that you would recommend. There is nothing more rewarding than to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxyLocks...
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking B&B!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August at Celyn Farm and had a fantastic time. The farm sits at the bottom of Sugarloaf Mountain and has amazing views up and down the valley. Sarah, Paul and Colin are great hosts, made us feel very welcome and Colin cooks a fantastic full breakfast - the sausages are something else!
They gave us 2 good tips on places to eat each evening both within 5 miles drive and even booked a table for us at the Dragons Head, a real local pub with good food.
We stayed in the standard double room, it is an attic room with views of the mountain. Really light and airy room with a very comfy bed, TV and en suite which has a shower cubicle, all very clean and there were lovely soft towels. There was also a kettle with tea/coffee/hot choc and 2 bottles of mineral water in the room. They were happy to let us chill a bottle of wine in their fridge.
There is lots to explore nearby, we drove through the black mountains, visited Abergavenny market, Llanthony Priory, Hay-on-Wye and Llangorse Lake. We also took trips further away to Tintern Abbey, Symonds Yat and Monmouth, the scenery is stunning, the Wye Valley and the mountains are beautiful.
All in all we had a great time and can't wait to go back, we would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review of the Celyn, glad you enjoyed the sausages (they are from the local butcher).

I agree that even though we are in the countryside there is a lot to explore and yet we are only a 10 minute drive from the nearest town.

So pleased to hear that you would recommend the Celyn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights due to son camping nearby.
What can I say. The house was lovely (Clean, new and big). As has been said in prior reviews, the host Colin could not have been more hospitable. There doesn't seem to be anything he wouldn't try and do to make the stay pleasant.
We stayed in the Superior room. The room was great but the best thing was the bathroom. The shower was great and the bath overlooks the countryside (only the sheep could stare at you!)
Breakfast was great, only problem for us was that we were on a diet, so we couldn't fully enjoy the fare :( which consisted of a full english, bread, cereal, yogurts, jam, fruit juices (the list goes on, it was such a good spread).
There is also a huge lounge area where you can just sit on the sofa and curl up with a good book (well, I did anyway).
There is also wi-fi here and as the house is a little remote, please don't expect a phone signal. Colin however was most gracious in letting us use the land line if was needed.
If we are traveling in this area again, we wouldn't hesitate in trying to book here first.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the Celyn. We try to do as much as we can to accommodate our guests to make sure that they have a great stay.

I am also pleased to hear that you liked the bathroom and the views from the bathroom.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim l
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a great place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Arrived at Celyn Farm to a vary warm welcombe and stayed for 4 nights with my wife in the master suit. The farm house is vary clean and tidy and well furnished and the breakfast well above average, Colin the host made us feel more like freinds than paying guests. Thanks Colin cant wait until next time.
Tim & Jane

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the warm welcome. I am glad that Colin helped make your stay at the Celyn a good one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkKatie
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful house and great hosts”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend in the July heat wave and were so glad we stumbled across this B & B on laterooms. There were some great reviews on laterooms, but none yet on Trip Advisor as they have only been running the B & B business for a couple of months. However, Colin and his daughter Sarah and her partner Paul are natural hosts- welcoming, friendly, relaxed and full of helpful advice and good chat. The farmhouse is beautifully situated in a pretty farming valley just outside Crickhowell with stunning views to the hills of the southern Black Mountains. The house is relatively new, but traditionally built with stone and oak throughout, so feels farmhousey. We had a lovely double room with an absolutely HUGE bathroom with stand alone bath and separate shower, and everything was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean (felt like a character hotel). Breakfast was great - full Welsh, eggs on toast, cereals, yoghurts, fresh coffee, toast, etc. but nothing was too much trouble and they were very accommodating with all the guests' breakfast requests. This is a real farmhouse B & B with friendly sheepdogs to greet you outside and was refreshingly laid back and informal, not stuffy at all. There are great local pubs, food options and walks from the door. They are in the process of landscaping the outside space and gardens, so it will be absolutely spectacular once this is finished. Exceptional value, so book now before it gets too busy! Thanks Colin, Sarah & Paul for a really special stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Celyn. I was extremely pleased to hear that you loved your room and enjoyed your stay overall. I am also delighted to hear that you had a great breakfast and visited the local pubs. We are lucky to have such great local pubs nearby to recommend to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing