We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PhillyF
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stunning location; house and room beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean (no mean feat for a working farm). We slept like logs in the comfortable bed. But what made it extra special was the fantastic hospitality shown by the owner and his family. John couldn't have done more to make us feel at home and has a wealth of knowledge about the local area, which he is delighted to share. A proper Welsh welcome :) Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights and we will definitely be back! Oh, almost forgot, the cooked breakfast is superb too....but can't decide whether Paul or John cooked it better......

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Hi Phil,
Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay at the Celyn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It gives us a great deal of pleasure making recommendations and sharing our knowledge about the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, middle of the countryside, real peace and quiet.

Nearest pubs are about 3 miles away - short drive.

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and made the stay even more special, good breakfast, and rooms were clean tidy and well equipped.

Lovely place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have met you and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn.

We are lucky to have good local pubs. Also, even though we are based in the countryside, the nearest town is only a 10 minute drive away.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goathead4...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxurious farmhouse”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We did a bit of research and the Celyn came up with excellent scores on the sites we looked at...and rightly so..we only stayed one night and I wish it could have been at least a week.Everything is top notch in a new build stone farmhouse ..on its own in rolling fields with gorgeous views of the Sugar Loaf. Great comfy bed..lovely oak furniture and a large bathroom with free standing bath and seperate shower. Warm as toast throughout our stay despite it being bitter outside. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Enormous full English breakfast to end our most enjoyable stay at this great little place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
What a pleasure it was to read this review - thank you. It is lovely to hear that our guests had a lovely stay as that it all we hope for.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarsForE...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful two night-stay at Celyn Farm B&B. We were given a very warm welcome and were delighted with the homey feel of the house (we particularly enjoyed a few glasses of red wine by the woodburner of an evening!) and the genuine feeling of being away from it all. The scenery around the area is just stunning and we had good meals in two of the local pubs recommended by Sarah and family (The Crown and The Dragon). The little church nearby is a must-see! We'd definitely book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Hello,

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed a glass of Red in the living room in front of the wood burner. It is especially nice on a cold night to sit in front of the log burner.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moid69
Vancouver Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed one night here and the service is excellent. It is a little difficult to find so make sure you get directions. Paul served us a delicious breakfast and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Wonderful walks in the mountains with fantastic scenery.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Hello,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are based in the country so we send all our guests directions upon booking to ensure that they have no problem in finding us.

We try to create a relaxed atmosphere so guests can enjoy their holiday.

We hope to welcome you again sometime.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unusually good”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Our weekend at Celyn was everything hoped for from a weekend away in the South Wales hills. The Alford's generous hospitality combines utter professionalism with a very warm welcome, both evident in spades throughout - from their very comfortable rooms and home, to Colin's prize-worthy cooked breakfasts. Superb. We look forward to returning in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Dear William,

It was a real pleasure to read this review. It was also a real pleasure to meet you both. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn and enjoyed Colin's breakfasts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard P
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Place in the country”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed for just one night last weekend and next time we are in the area we would have no hesitation of staying again and for longer. A warm welcome and a wonderful room with stunning views. A home cooked breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake.
Howard & Ann

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Dear Howard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a longer stay so you can sample another cooked breakfast from Colin.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing