We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a view!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
grahambCa...
canberra
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This B&B is a little hard to find, but once there, everything is perfect. Colin has a great sense of humour and knows the area well. The rooms are spotless and well presented. Breakfast is great. Both from your room and breakfast room, you have a beautiful view of the countryside. Would definitely recommend.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Hi Graham, thanks so much for your lovely comments. Yes we are out in the country but we are now on google maps so we are much easier to find. We also send detailed directions upon booking too. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Colin's sense of humour, the views, room and breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Idyllic location and brilliant hosts”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Your made to feel very welcome, and the breakfast was great. When looking for somewhere to dine you can't go far wrong asking mine host. The rooms are clean and quiet, and the views from the windows idyllic. Hope to go back in the future

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Hi Patricia,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn and look forward to welcoming you back someday. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views, room and breakfast. Thanks once again for your very kind comments.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterVi
København, Danmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Wales”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this farm house. The superior room is large and with a large bathroom as well. Fantastic views to mountains and farm land. Colin is kind, helpful and prepares a very complete English breakfast with quality products.

Travelling group: Par
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Hi Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the superior ensuite and was happy with the level of service that Colin provided - we will be sure to pass on your kind words.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobD29
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A superb B&B in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first stay at Celyn Farm and our first visit to this part of Wales and we are already contemplating a return visit. In a tranquil green valley in the Brecon Beacons, Celyn Farm has a superb location with stunning views, great walks and some welcoming pubs a short drive away. The accommodation was modern, clean, comfortable and as well equipped as we could wish. Sarah and Colin were very friendly hosts; nothing was too much trouble.
What a delight it was to wake up in a sunlit room to the quiet of the Welsh countryside and to see house martins darting from the eaves and then to linger over a full 'Welsh' breakfast of local produce in the breakfast room, looking out across the valley to the Sugar Loaf mountain. As a restorative, a stay at Celyn Farm would be difficult to beat.

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Hi Rob,
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn. Looking after you to make sure you had a great stay was our absolute pleasure. We were especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, the welcome, the views and the walks. We look forward to welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NScotchme...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A friendly farm retreat”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A really lovely and wonderfully friendly B&B. Tucked away but with fantastic views of the Black Mountains this was a really fantastic find. The master bedroom is lovely with a really luxurious bathroom and we were made to feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. Highly recommended!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views, the welcome, the room and the bathroom. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A luxurious 5 star Retreat!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visited this b and b because we had a family wedding to attend at Tretower Castle...what a find we had! As soon as we arrived we knew we were going to love our stay, so peaceful and luxurious. Myself and my husband had the master bedroom, which came with a power shower and luxurious bath-had to take a bath just for the views-fields and sheep for miles-so relaxing, could have bathed all day! The b and b is situated high up and has such a relaxing feel-as soon as you arrive you are treated well, Colin the owner was lovely, couldn't do enough for us and made a lovely breakfast! We are so happy we found this b and b-one of the best b and b's we have stayed in for a long time, a lovely, peaceful break!!! Thank-you!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Hi Natasha,
What really lovely comments - thank you so much they have made our day. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn and we look forward to welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumbalumb...
Midlands, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely B&B. Fantastic views, friendly welcome, comfortable, very clean, good breakfast. Sarah was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were modern. Very slight downside - quite a small bathroom. Overall - highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience of the Celyn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We were especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, breakfast and the welcome. We are sorry to hear that the bathroom was not big enough for you and kindly suggest that you try our superior ensuite which has a huge bathroom if we do have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing