We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay in a lovely B and B.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
enh87
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a lovely B and B.”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We visited the Celyn Farm B&B for a weekend away and to climb the surrounding beacon mountains. Accommodation was great, Sarah gave fantastic hospitality, breakfast was spot on every morning. We opted for a full fry each day but there were cereals and toast on offer as well as teas, coffees, juices as well.

The views were brilliant and we were lucky enough to see the lambs being born, watching from our bedroom window.

Of you're looking for a nice location with good food and board, then definitely stay here. Highly recommended.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your review. So pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed the hospitslity and breakfast - we try and source all our produce locally so guests enjoy some lovely food.
That was a real treat seeing a lamb being born!
Hope to welcome you again - maybe in the next lambing season.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter b
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Probrably the best b & b we have ever stayed in. The views are amazing, the breakfast was perfect and the bedroom was spacious and immaculate. Within easy reach of Abergavenny. Would highly recommend it and would stay again.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Dear Peter,
We are delighted that you thought that the Celyn was probably one of the best b & b's you have ever stayed in. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alannah C
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exactly what we wished for”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my partner stayed at Celyn Farm for Easter Weekend, the property is beautiful set within acres of green farmland. Sarah looked after us very well always checking we had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely. We stayed in the superior room which had a really comfortable bed and a lovely bath. There are only 3 rooms in the house which I thought was really nice. Thank you so much for everything, overall fantastic.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Dear Alannah,
Thanks for your kind words. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay at the Celyn. We are pleased to see that you thought the bed was comfortable, enjoyed the bath and thought the hospitality was good - looking after you was our pleasure.
Kilnf regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning location with friendly owners”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The views from this B&B are amazing. The decor in the room was lovely and the complimentary welsh cakes were much appreciated. The breakfast was great and the owners very helpful. We didn't have an amazing nights sleep, but that is probably due to the bed being a little too soft for us.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Hi Nicki,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the views and the breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a great night's sleep as the bed was too soft for you. The bed that you stayed in is only a couple of weeks old and we went for medium firmness as we realise that some like the mattress soft and some prefer a more firm mattress so we thought it would be a happy medium for our guests.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnaLinc...
lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“stop over”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

stayed on the 9th march and this is probably the best b&b we have stayed in lovely views, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast the owners are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble if anybody is travelling this part of wales and need a b&b this is the one. wish we were there a bit longer but hope to return one day. thank you

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review, it was a real pleasure to read. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliaharr...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Terrific b&b, Paul the host was wonderful and extremely welcoming/kind. The room was great and we felt very comfortable and at home. Our only complaint was that it is a tad bit difficult to find (especially in the dark). A lit welcome sign would go a long way. Everything else was perfect.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and loved the welcome from Paul. Thank you for the suggestion with the sign, that is helpful. We do email directions to all guests' upon booking but to help further I now send a link to google maps as that will take you straight here.

Hope to welcome you back someday.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky_H53...
Cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for one night using the B&B as a base the night before meeting friends to climb Pen Y Fan. We absolutely loved it, a stunning, cosy home from home in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for a get away to totally relax then this is the place to go! Neither myself or my husband had any phone signal up here, which didn't bother us in the slightest as it was a real break from reality for us. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome and the cooked breakfast in the morning was superb. The views all around the B&B were amazing, nothing but mountains, sheep, and lots and lots of daffodils! Both of us wished we had booked to stay for the weekend instead of just one night. We will definitely be going back.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Hi Nicky,

Thanks for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay and hope to welcome you back someday.

Although we do not have phone signal there is free WIFI throughout the house so for those who want to access the internet/messages/emails they are able to.

Thanks again.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing