We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Helpful hosts and comfortable night's sleep!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
seamusmax...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helpful hosts and comfortable night's sleep!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for one night, last weekend, as our friends were getting married nearby. It was our first time in the area and we can't thank the hosts enough for all their help. Colin was extremely welcoming on our arrival and he was able to sort out our logistics for getting to and from the wedding at Sugar Loaf Barn. We had a very comfortable night's sleep and the breakfast the following morning was superb! What a wonderful first stay in the area and hopefully, we will return in the near future!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the wedding. It was no problem at all organising taxis and we were glad we could help you have a great stay.
We hope to welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luug
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best in the region!”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for three nights and it was very much worth the search: it was a bit hard to find. But the place makes up for any inconviniences no matter what!
The reception was most heartly and warm. The "tour around the house" was friendly and clear and the room/bed/comfort was great. The breakfast-room is the most stunningly place I have had the privelidge to eat in! With a view so beautifull you can almost forget to eat....
Collin, Paul and Sarah are the best!!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Stellen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi Luug,
What an awesome review. Thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes it can be difficult to find but we ensure that we send detailed directions and the link to google maps so guests can find us easily.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLInnis
2 reviews
“A wonderful visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent eight days here. Everyone, Colin, Paul and Sarah were very anxious to make sure we enjoyed our visit and went beyond the expected to make our visit great. I got some really great advice on local attractions and day trips. Be sure to take the hike to Sugarloaf if you stay there.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. We are delighted that you stayed with us and that you enjoyed it. Yes, the Sugar Loaf is a great walk with some epic views. You can even see the Celyn from the top on a clear day!
Thanks again
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly as it says on the Packaging!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A very professionally run b and b business by an originally-farming family (now a farmer, a solicitor, a butcher - and a retired border collie sheepdog!). Very welcoming and accommodating. Will help in whatever way they can. Breakfast very good with local produce. Hard to see where any improvements could be made. For those with ambitions to climb the Sugar Loaf (on the opposite side of the valley), take Colin's advice and find the car park half way up the mountain on the south side above the vineyard. Even feasible from there for a septuagenarian! The drive north through the Black Mountains towards Hay On Wye is a must. Plan to stop at the two little churches en-route - at Cwmyoy and Capel y Ffin - 2 absolutely "must sees", if only to get a reel feel for that lovely valley

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2016
Hi Michael,
Thanks for your review - it was a real delight to read. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and appreciated the local produce, surroundings and the local area.
Thanks again. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaily1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for one night on a motorbike trip around Wales. Colin & his old sheepdog maximillion made us feel very welcome. The views are stunning & the house is absolutely beautiful! Please do put it on your list of places that you must stay! The bedroom was beautiful & very comfortable. The breakfast was yummy! Colin is a farmer by trade and has opened a B&B in his home to help his farm - it is idyllic.
Thank you Colin & give max a hug from me!

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you had a fantastic stay, it really is lovely to hear. We will be sure to give max a hug - he absolutely loves the attention that guest at give him. He often comes up from the farm and sits on the doorstep to welcome guests. He has even been known to smile when you get the camera out!
Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZARichmon...
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Panoramic countryside views”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Two things struck us about this unique b&b - first, the rolling hills visible as far as the eye can see, such a treat for Londoners, and secondly the generous size of the bedroom and en suite bathroom. Definitely book the "Superior en suite" you won't be disappointed. Colin and Sarah are exceptionally welcoming and cooked us really delicious breakfasts which you eat with other guests around a dining room table, again with a view of green hills and blue skies. Sugarloaf is a 5 minute drive away so you can park and do the walk up it. If you book here - one word of caution - print out and bring the booking confirmation from Sarah with you- you will need the directions. There is no network signal once you leave Abergavenny so don't make the same mistake we did and try winging it on your smartphone - we had to drive back to town and call the b&b from there to get directions!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you loved the view and the size our room. Yes our superior ensuite is one of the biggest rooms and has a roll top bath and walk in power shower too. Colin will be pleased that you enjoyed breakfast - he loves cooking breakfast for guests and using all local produce to cook with. Thanks for the heads up in relation to the directions. When each guest books I send a detailed email with directions, link to google maps and the coordinates to make sure you guys don't get lost in the Welsh countryside.
It was a pleasure welcoming you and hope to welcome you back again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linton319...
Beaumaris, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort in rural Wales”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A purpose built B&B in the countryside outside Abervagenny. It was a little difficult to get to down the very narrow lanes, but more than worth it. The views from all parts of the property are quintessential Wales. The proprietors are extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was comprehensive, as were the in room facilities. A true rural idyll.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you had a great stay in rural Wales. Apologies you had a little difficulty finding us. We do send a detailed email with directions, link to google maps and co ordinary to ensure you guys don't get lost - sorry if you did not pick that up.
It was a pleasure welcoming you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing