We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and welcoming!! Loved it.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hollyi95
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming!! Loved it. ”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Will 100% return in the summer! But will get a room with an en suite next time. Very helpful and friendly. Loved waking up to the sounds of birds. Will recommend to friends and family. Sarah helped us book reservations at a local pub, taxi service was friendly.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2016
Dear Holly,
Thanks so much for taking the time so leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. All the rooms advertised are all ensuite. However as you called last minute wanting to stay I offered you our overspill room (our super King room with the use of a private bathroom) which we offer as an alternative so not to disappoint should our ensuite rooms be full.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer and thanks for recommending to friend and family.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanknapm...
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming.”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Very last minute trip but did not disappoint. Only stayed for one night, but really wish we could of stayed longer. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and the interior was very modern which was a pleasant surprise considering the country settings. The owners were very pleasant, extremely welcoming and very helpful. Did not think twice about booking transport and dinner reservations for us which made our stay a lot easier. There were only a few minor issues, for example the check in time was very late. We were informed that this is because it is a working farm but this meant limited access to our room, maybe hiring a member of staff to welcome guests a little bit earlier would solve this. There was also confusion with room prices, after we paid £85 (which we do not think is unfair for our room) we become aware of the fact that a room with an en suit and the same size bed was also £85 but we had to use a shared bathroom. Apart from those issues we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are already planning a return trip in the summer and we would highly recommend Celyn Farm to anybody.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2016
Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad that you had a great stay with us. Apologies that you had a few issues. I am afraid that the reason why check in is between 5-7 is because we are a working farm too so we are out looking after the animals until around 4.45 each day. Thanks for your suggestion about hiring a member of staff to overcome this - we will defiantly look into this option. In terms of payment, yourself and Holly stayed in our super King room which has a super King size bed. We offered you the room as a last minute option as you called wishing to make a reservation the night before and all of our ensuite rooms were booked. It is one of the biggest bedrooms and bathrooms in the house - it also has a bath. In addition, just to clarify that it is not a shared bathroom - the bathroom is private to your room. We are pleased that you did not feel the price was unfair for your room.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday and thank you for your constructive comments.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davros78
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but....”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one night in the most expensive room (£85) which was a very nice room with a great en suite. Everything with the room was great. But there was a room directly above, which you could hear very conversation & foot steps which kept us up at night & woke us at 3am when they needed the bathroom.

This was the only issue, but if we were paying for the best room I would expect not to be awoken from the room above.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Hi Davros,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you thought the room and ensuite was great. Sorry to hear that the people in room above you woke you up at 3am when the visited the bathroom. I will look into some sound proofing for this.
I hope this has not taken away from your stay overall and hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2212Andy
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful setting wth fantastic views across the valley, unspoilt even by the mist ! Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Colin's breakfasts were superb. This place feels very remote although in reality only about 4 miles from Abergavenny - suggest taking a Satnav ! Room was very clean and comfortable. All in all we would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. We live some distance away but if ever in the area again will definitely revisit.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you thought we are in a beautiful setting with fantastic views across the valley. Colin will be so chuffed to hear your comments about his breakfast - I will let him know. Yes although we are in the country we are only 10 mins from the local town which has some great places to eat.
Thanks again and hope to welcome you again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spend 4 nights during the RWC and it was really a good experience.
Colin, Paul and Sarah welcomed us warmly and did their best to satisfy to our requests or needs.
Just take a good GPS or information sent by Sarah after booking confirmation.

We had the opportunity to discover some local products, have huge breakfast freshly cooked by Colin or Paul, visit former coal mine and visit this beautiful region from our
staying location.

Thank you and we definitely come back there if we have the opportunity to be in that region next time.

Sebastien & Cecile

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hey Sebastien and Cecile,
Thanks for leaving a lovely review. It is great to hear that you had a really good experience - that is what it is all about.
We hope to welcome you back someday.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were visiting the area to go to the Walnut Tree restaurant and stayed here. The room was large, clean, well equipped with a comfortable bed and lovely bedding. The bathroom was huge and new and clean.
Colin was a fantastic host, very friendly and he cooked a mean breakfast. The black pudding was exceptional and the sausages and bacon were wonderful. We couldn't fault the place at all, its in the most wonderful setting with breathtaking views and was incredible value.
Highly recommended indeed. We would definitely go back if we were ever in the area again.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi Sean,
What lovely comments - thank you so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Colin will be so pleased to hear your comments - I will be sure to pass them on to him. Paul will also be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the black pudding, bacon and sausages as we source these from the local butchers where he works.
Thanks again Seam and hopefully we can welcome you again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamusmax...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Helpful hosts and comfortable night's sleep!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for one night, last weekend, as our friends were getting married nearby. It was our first time in the area and we can't thank the hosts enough for all their help. Colin was extremely welcoming on our arrival and he was able to sort out our logistics for getting to and from the wedding at Sugar Loaf Barn. We had a very comfortable night's sleep and the breakfast the following morning was superb! What a wonderful first stay in the area and hopefully, we will return in the near future!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the wedding. It was no problem at all organising taxis and we were glad we could help you have a great stay.
We hope to welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing