We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleasant stay!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
863fungw
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in Celyn Farm for two nights and we love it very much! First of all, the cottage has a fabulous view of moutains and sheeps everywhere (lovely!). Secondly, Colin, Beth and everyone else at this B&B are very helpful and friendly! Thirdly, the room is warmly decorated and is well-equipped with all essentials we need! Last but not least, the breakfast comes with three choices and they are made with heart and tasty (made from local ingredients too)! If we are visiting Breacon Becons again, we would love to stay at the Celyn Farm again!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Hi there,
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you had a very pleasant stay at the Celyn. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the sheep, views, rooms and breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma W
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. Friendly and helpful hosts. A great breakfast offered. A lovely room and it was nice to have access to the lounge also. We were sad to leave at the end of our trip.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Hi Gemma,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and thought the people were friendly and helpful.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picajules
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A fantastic place to stay to escape from everything. Clean and luxurious with very friendly and welcoming owners. A delicious cooked breakfast in the morning. Had a wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings - would definitely visit again!

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful escape for a couple of days. We hope that you are suitably refreshed after your break.
It was lovely meeting you and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great find. Will no longer stay in town, worth going up the valley for 10/15 mins to this lovely B & B”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Booked later than normal as unsure of dates and found this gem in the valley above Abergavenny. Lovely owners and a friendly welcome. Everything you need in the room for a comfortable stay and fresh milk offered on arrival. Comfy lounge to use, decent shower, warm room, mince pies, different pillows to choose from. Great breakfast in the morning in a nice dining room. Fantastic views over the valley.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It means so much to us to hear that people have a great stay as we know that having a great holiday/break is really important.
We hope to welcome you again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel T
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a 2 night stay at Celyn Farm B&B for the last weekend of November.

Using google maps, the B&B was easy to find and we were greeted warmly by our hosts upon our arrival. The room was lovely and cosy, and included a very useful information pack for the local area.

Neither of our phones were able to pick up signal (O2 and Vodafone) but Sarah and Colin were fantastic hosts and helped us book taxis and table for the evening. There is WiFi and it is good enough for browsing the web but you will struggle to use it for Netflix etc.

The morning breakfast is brilliant, with full English + cereal and yoghurt's available.

All in all we had a fantastic stay here, and would highly recommend it.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi there,
Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the room, breakfast and overall stay. Yes we are easy to find when using the directions that I send or by following google maps which will take you straight here.
Yes the Wifi is ok for general stuff but is not as strong as the city as we are in the country but there is talk of super fast wifi coming to the area so fingers crossed that will be soon.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollyi95
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming!! Loved it. ”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Will 100% return in the summer! But will get a room with an en suite next time. Very helpful and friendly. Loved waking up to the sounds of birds. Will recommend to friends and family. Sarah helped us book reservations at a local pub, taxi service was friendly.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2016
Dear Holly,
Thanks so much for taking the time so leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. All the rooms advertised are all ensuite. However as you called last minute wanting to stay I offered you our overspill room (our super King room with the use of a private bathroom) which we offer as an alternative so not to disappoint should our ensuite rooms be full.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer and thanks for recommending to friend and family.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanknapm...
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming.”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Very last minute trip but did not disappoint. Only stayed for one night, but really wish we could of stayed longer. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and the interior was very modern which was a pleasant surprise considering the country settings. The owners were very pleasant, extremely welcoming and very helpful. Did not think twice about booking transport and dinner reservations for us which made our stay a lot easier. There were only a few minor issues, for example the check in time was very late. We were informed that this is because it is a working farm but this meant limited access to our room, maybe hiring a member of staff to welcome guests a little bit earlier would solve this. There was also confusion with room prices, after we paid £85 (which we do not think is unfair for our room) we become aware of the fact that a room with an en suit and the same size bed was also £85 but we had to use a shared bathroom. Apart from those issues we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are already planning a return trip in the summer and we would highly recommend Celyn Farm to anybody.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2016
Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad that you had a great stay with us. Apologies that you had a few issues. I am afraid that the reason why check in is between 5-7 is because we are a working farm too so we are out looking after the animals until around 4.45 each day. Thanks for your suggestion about hiring a member of staff to overcome this - we will defiantly look into this option. In terms of payment, yourself and Holly stayed in our super King room which has a super King size bed. We offered you the room as a last minute option as you called wishing to make a reservation the night before and all of our ensuite rooms were booked. It is one of the biggest bedrooms and bathrooms in the house - it also has a bath. In addition, just to clarify that it is not a shared bathroom - the bathroom is private to your room. We are pleased that you did not feel the price was unfair for your room.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday and thank you for your constructive comments.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing