We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful countryside”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jake F
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Came here for a weekend as we here attending a wedding nearby. It is in a beautiful countryside location, so you really feel like you can appreciate the amazing scenery. The rooms are nice enough and very cozy. We stayed up on the top floor. There are some nice walks in the vicinity and the owners are very knowledgable about them. The breakfast was also very good.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Hi Jake,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Celyn. We are pleased you liked the room, location and the breakfast. We hope that you enjoyed the wedding you were attending and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Arrived and welcomed by host and 'Max' - lovely place in beautiful surroundings; nothing was too much trouble. Booked to stay two nights in order to attend son's (and future daughter in law's) wedding; Rooms are perfect, location gorgeous, hosts can not do enough to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Clean, comfortable rooms with lovely views out over the countryside; Sleep quality was fabulous and breakfast was great, whatever we wanted cooked fresh. We could not have wished for more. We felt really 'at home'. Continued good luck with this venture, you love what you do, and we loved our stay. Thank you xx

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hi Sarah, what a lovely review and such kind comments, thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn. We wish your son and daughter in law well and look forward to welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alidavid
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Love countryside, love farms, love animals, so booking this was a no brainer. Absolutely idyllic farmhouse, beautiful in every way. Felt home from home instantly with a shoes off policy at the door. No big deal for those of us who respect ours and other peoples' homes. Incrediblely gorgeous room with dual aspect views and an ensuite to die for, inc roll top bath! Arrived late afternoon as sun was setting and the views were just breathtaking.
Owners both friendly and helpful with recommending places to eat etc.... breakfast served at time specified, hot and freshly cooked with as much toast and beverages as required.
Would definitely recommend.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hi Alison,
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed the room, surroundings, the people and the breakfast. We are delighted that you had a great birthday treat at the Celyn. Thanks also for your comments on our twitter page - much appreciated.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger G
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend a visit”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Arrived in total darkness. Directions from the owners were brilliant, even though it is out of the way.
Great location with wonderful views front, back and sides. The owners really want you to enjoy both their home, and the local area. Both are active members of the community and have a wealth of knowledge to pass on.
The house itself was spotless and the room was fully equipped with everything we needed for a perfect stay.
WELL DONE! We will be back - with a family group. You have been warned. ;)

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hi Roger,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. It is so lovely to hear guest's experiences of their stay at the Celyn. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views, the rooms and the people.
We look forward to welcoming you back with you family.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchDutc...
Haaksbergen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Wales. The written comments about Celyn Farm, or The Celyn, were impressive, and we agree to a large extent. We had the large Superior Suite that had a double bed with a truly excellent mattress. Next morning, we first enjoyed the view: very, very beautiful, in a peaceful setting. Downstairs awaited us a great breakfast, salmon and eggs for my wife and a full English breakfast for me. All guests sit around the same table which makes conversation easy-going and nice. There are maps (1:25 000) and other information available about the Brecon Beacons National Park.

A few remarks: guests are expected to take off their shoes on arrival. But, if you arrive, still with your suitcases, you would not want to open them right in the corridor. Flip flops should be available in such cases. Also, especially for elderly people a small bench should be in the corridor to sit on while changing shoes.
At breakfast, it is either tea or coffee. Why not both?
Finally, the roads leading to The Celyn are in part very narrow, making it impossible for 2 cars to pass each other. People who do not like to reverse their car in order to find a suitable place for passing, may find this a serious problem, especially at night. We had the experience that a local women refused to reverse, so we, new to the area, had to do that.
But overall, a place to be, and a place to return to!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you had a great stay at the Celyn, enjoyed the room, the breakfast and the views.
Thank you very much for your constructive comments in terms of providing slippers and a bench. We will be sure to take this on board. So sorry for the misunderstanding regarding tea/coffee - it is just a standard phase we ask in the mornings "can I get you any tea, coffee?" - of course more than happy to provide both (in addition to hot chocolate, green teas etc if guests prefer) and plenty of refills too. Nevertheless I will be sure to take your point back to Colin to avoid any misunderstanding in future. Thanks for your comments on the roads too - we are based in the country with single track country lanes for the last 0.5 - 1 mile of the journey. Although they are single track, there is plenty of places to pull in to pass and they are all concreted and standard Welsh country lanes. Sorry to hear that you had to reverse a little for someone to pass.
We hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic room and breakfast! ”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A huge thank you to Paul and Sarah for a fantastic stay. We booked the superior ensuite room and would highly recommend- very comfy bed, big bath and ensuite. We quickly felt at home when we were greeted with hot chocolates and welsh cakes! A fantastic full English breakfast too and amazing views. Like many below, we were very foolish and didn't take the advice to print off a google maps of the B and B location and follow the directions closely- the sat nav really doesn't do it, our fault entirely!

Thanks again.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Hi Emma,
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn. We hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwuk2012
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What can I say. Absolutely brilliant. The views are outstanding, the welcome was amazing and the stay was fantastic. Could not recommend higher. Came here for a birthday getaway and came away chilled and relaxed. The owners were lovely, room fantastic and breakfast out if this world.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Hi there,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you had a brilliant stay and enjoyed the room, people and the breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing