We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional family run pub.”
Review of Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great find in a lovely place. We went to the food fest also and stayed in the pub for two nights. Pretty quaint pub which oozes history. fabulous room. Very clean. Quaint sloping landing floorboards. Gorgeous rugs. Lovey food. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Beautiful dining room. Fresh flowers in various places. Sacha was lovely and welcoming. She even put the meat I bought from the food fest in her fridge for me. I would definitely stay here again. In fact I wouldn't even bother looking elsewhere. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 out of 5, is that the bar let it down slightly. Some bright spark decided to clean the lines at 8.50pm on the Sunday, then tried to palm me off with a watered down pint of lager, saying that the last pull was often the best. They then covered all the pumps with plastic glasses to show that they were no longer in use and got rid of all the glasses. When I ordered wine as there was no longer the option of buying a lager, there were no glasses left to put it in. I'm not sure why the bar manager decided to clean the lines when people were still drinking in the pub and outside. But the bar staff were all pretty friendly just poor judgement in my eyes. When I visit again, maybe a free pint might be in order ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgiovannone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were lucky enough to get a room here for the 2 days of the Food Festival. The King's Arms is right in the centre of town - there were even stalls right outside! Our room was perfect - very clean and quiet - being at the back of the hotel. This is a wonderfully quirky building - uneven ceilings and sloping floors. We only had breakfast here as we were eating out both nights but loved the breakfasts both days, fresh locally sourced produce served with a smile. Sacha went out of her way to make us welcome. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhomacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for a night & we were fortunate to be upgraded as it was the only room left.
Really gorgeous room up old C16 stairs with large double bed & bath inthe room- fabulous.
The couple who run it deserve all the success in the world as they'so friendly & hard working & on visiting again,they actually remember who you are!
Lovel,generous breakfast & helpful,courteous staff- we're definitely going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Thank you for a beautiful Sunday lunch. The beef was tender as a steak and as for the pork, wow!!! And when the children had had enough there was colouring, films and running space. Sacha made as feel as comfortable as if we were at home and we really could have stayed all day, a rare treat with two constantly hyperactive boys. Perfect, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere We were initially going to stay at the angel hotel nearby however our room was very outdated and old although the service there was great and they kindly pointed us towards a competitor.

We came to the kings Arms not expecting much but it was just great

Atmosphere : cosy , renovated old building with existing 500 year old features , lovely staff and a warm welcome

service : great staff who made us feel at home and showed us to our room. Later at dinner they were excellent and I cannot fault them

room : the room was very good , clean and tidy , nice beds and all the extras for example instead of standard shower gel there were very nice bottles of shampoo etc and also bottles (glass) of water next to each bed. Only suggestion I can make is a larger tv as 19" is too far to view from the bed

Food : the menu was excellent and I had the gammon steak with poached egg and homemade chips : it was absolutely excellent and so well cooked and presented a real compliment to the hotel/tavern this was followed by a selection of sorbets which were absolutely delicious. Overall 10/10 on food

generally the whole experience was just brilliant and at 85 pounds a night it exceeded my expectations by a long way!

The place to at stay in this quaint gate to wales!


Compliments to the chef and all of the staff at the kings arms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArmsAber1, General Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and really hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back.

All the best

Sacha & Jon Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and had a wow factor of an experience. Our room number 11 was amazing with old fashioned beams, free standing bath , flat screen and a fabulous spacious room with a comfortable bed too.

The food in the restaurant was amazing, service was fabulous and we were treated like royalty. Breakfast was delicious and presented wonderfully.

Staff in the bar, reception and restaurant were extremely polite and professional. They went the extra mile on every occasion. Sasha, John and Justin were absolutely amazing

Room Tip: This is a great place for a couple to go to relax and get spoilt. Really wonderful and magical exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArmsAber1, General Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you both for taking the time to write your review.

We're delighted you enjoyed our stay here with us, it was great to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best

Sacha & Jon Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and myself have just spent 3 really enjoyable days and nights at this very classy, quaint and quirky old inn. We were upgraded to Room 1, a beautifully furnished and spotless room/suite with en-suite jacuzzi bath and separate shower. The bed was large and so comfortable that we wished we could smuggle it out and bring it home ! The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious and beautifully presented. Sasha ,Jon and staff were all unfailingly courteous and helpful in every way at all times - when the TV sound played up briefly it was sorted out quickly and with humour..- this was the only "problem" we encountered ! We had a great time at the King's Arms, thank you again Sasha, Jon and team, Hope to visit again soon. Cheers.........

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basaxtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArmsAber1, General Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It was really lovely to meet you both and Jon and I are delighted you enjoyed your well earned break away.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best

Sacha & Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
919 reviews
4.4 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
534 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 30 in Abergavenny
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms

Address: 29 Nevill Street, Abergavenny NP7 5AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: £87 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a late sixteenth century coaching inn located in the heart of the bustling Welsh market town of Abergavenny; the gateway to Wales. We offer something for everyone; comfortable, well-appointed guest accommodation, lip smackingly delicious restaurant food and a versatile function space for all manner of events. Whatever your reason for visiting – an extended getaway break, a lazy lunch meet up with friends, or a flying coffee and newspaper pit stop – we’d like to extend you the warmest of welcomes. Come in and take a look around… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Abergavenny
Kings Arms Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing