We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”

Warwicks Country Pub
Ranked #46 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$110 - US$280
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An idyllic Country Pub, serving a range of traditional meals and real ales.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fantastic lunch, great selection of veg , belly pork was lush, beautiful country pub, great service, would highly reccomend....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueenwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely late Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have passed Warwick's many times when taking the back Lane into Monmouth and popped in for a late Sunday lunch which we decided to have in the garden as it was such a beautiful day. The gardens are lovely and indeed Warwick's is in such a picturesque setting and so peaceful. We were pleased to discover that they serve a traditional Sunday lunch until seven o'clock and so relaxed with drinks in the sunshine and then enjoyed an unhurried late lunch. We decided not to have starters and both opted for the sirloin of beef,perfectly cooked,Yorkshire puddings,proper roast potatoes,real gravy and plenty of fresh vegetables. Delicious ! I had the obviously homemade apple pie and ice cream...lovely ! And my husband had a selection of creamy ice creams. Food and service very good,our young waitress was very charming. Warwick's is a very olde worlde kind of a place,with unusual and eclectic decor,a friendly and relaxing ambience. We particularly love the garden. Would definitely return when in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak and Ale Pie”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner and I went to the Warwick for the first time yesterday for lunch and we weren't disappointed! Good old fashioned pub with great scenery in a relaxed setting. Friendly staff plus good ale! I chose the steak and ale pie and my partner Deb had the Leek and Caerphilly cheese tart. Both had big thumbs up from us. The steak was rich and succulent and the best pie I'd ever tried. We will be back!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timb063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A genuine country hostelry, friendly staff & atmosphere, good food & good value - particularly
the all day breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hlloyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Warwicks”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a gen nestling just over the border from Herefordshire. You walk in to a proper "olde worlde" country pub and the first thing that hits you is the smell of the fire. A fantastic meal was had by all 4 in our party.I personally would recommend the slow roast belly pork. One of the talking points are all the old pop-record music sheets pinned to the ceiling in the main restaurant. Will defineately visit again.Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandprix50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwicks Country Pub also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Warwicks Country Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing