We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home abroad”
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE LOUNGE LLANWENARTH COTTAGE KITCHEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE LOUNGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE KITCHEN
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE BEDROOM
OUR 10FT HIGH RED KITE CARVED AFTER THE BLUE SPRUCE DIED
SUMMERHOUSE
LLANWENARTH 06/07/08
AUTUMN TOWARDS THE SUGARLOAF NOV 2012
OUR BEATIFUL BLUE CEDAR DIED BUT A MAJESTIC RED KITE WAS BORN
CROQUET ON THE LAWN
RED KITE TOWARDS COTTAGE NOV 2011
Summerhouse
Daffodills  Along the Drive Braving the Cold Weather  April 2013
June 2013 and the garden is awake at last.
Entrance Pathway to the Paddock Garden June 2013
A Corner of the Paddock Garden June 2013
The Cottage Garden June 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
my f
2 reviews
“A home abroad”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We spent 5 nights in the annex cottage (in one of the most comfortable beds of all time). We were greeted by sue and Tony’s daughter who was equally warm and helpful. Sue and tony sent us a map prior to our arrival to help find the cottage and with this it really wasn’t hard to find. There were yummy welsh cakes and tea on arrival, which was a lovely touch. The cottage consists of a well equipped kitchen (we cooked simple meals but found all we needed in equipment and spices. Also there is a large waitrose nearby- 5min drive), a bathroom with walk in shower, a comfortable living room (with tapes or dvds at your disposal and a sky box if you wished to order a film - we spent one comfortable evening eating chocolates watching a movie after a long hike), an extra toilet and an upstairs bedroom. All rooms were tastefully and lovingly decorated in a country style (if ewe know what I mean). It was a simple stay and the hosts really seem to care about you :) we ate several of our meals outdoors because there were various seating arrangements available in the extensive garden. You can park outside easily and can reach many attractions by car (we visited big pit, the gower peninsula, pen y fan...) but there is also a lovely pub (tavern y bont run by Jerry) which you can walk to along the canal to Govilon.
fairytale grounds full of flowers, squirrels and bunnies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
It is important to us that our guests feel comfortable and at home when they visit and your review makes it all very worthwhile. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and the various attractions afforded by this beautiful part of Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTKT999
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Warmly greeted by Sue and shown round by Findley (including his castle in the garden). Comfiest beds we have ever slept in ensured a good nights rest, beautiful gardens to sit and relax in. Cottage was lovely, compact but never seeming too small. Walked along canal just down the lane to village, climbed Blorenge and Sugar loaf ( difficult to find car park we wanted to start from). Recommend wharf at Goetre for boat hire and Waitrose at Abergavenny for cooked breakfast. Most frustrating thing about stay was not packing a bird identification book as saw so many. Definitely will be returning here.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Brecon Beacons and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah S
1 review
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We stayed in this lovely cottage over the bank holiday and had the most wonderful time. It had everything we needed and was close to local shops and amenities. The town of Abergavenny and the castle is well worth a visit, there are also plenty of beautiful country walks to explore.
The owner is wonderfully welcoming and makes you feel at home right away. Thank you for such a lovely stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful part of Wales and it is always our pleasure to make our guests feel welcome and help in any way we can. Thank you for your kind review.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley G
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful surroundings with a short walk to the Brecon canal.”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Very clean comfortable cottage. Has all the amenities one could wish for.
Sue and Tony were great hosts. Plenty of great walks in the surrounding mountains also lovely towns and villages to visit. Big Pit at Blaenavon is a must.
We wil definitely be staying again on our next trip to the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you Shirley, it is always pleasing to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz364
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect Location and hosts”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a fantastic find. It was so good we booked an extra night. Great location, quiet and peaceful with beautiful gardens. The cottage had everything you could need with all the extra touches which are lovely when travelling. It was clean, comfortable and set up for a very relaxing stay. Thank you to our wonderful hosts Sue and Tony who could not do enough for you, even allowing my family to call in for coffee on their way home from a funeral. Could not forget the wonderful welsh cakes. Yum! Will definately stay again when we travel back to this area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we were delighted to meet you and it is always our pleasure to make our guests feel as welcome as possible.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M
1 review
“Beautifully tranquil escape, incredible garden and wonderfully warm hosts”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed for two nights over New Year 2017 and felt very welcome. Sue and Tony couldn't do enough to help us and had decorated the cottage for Christmas with lots of lovely little touches that our two year old loved! It was quiet, clean and warm- a perfect escape to the country. We fell in love with their garden too; the magical tree, a vast space and beautifully cultivated- I won't forget our wintery game of hide and seek in a hurry. Thank you for a wonderfully pleasant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you for your kind words Rebecca, it was a pleasure having you stay.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina b
1 review
“Amazing cottage ”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed staying at the cottage, very tidy and with an amazing garden.I found the most relaxing place . I can't wait to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Tina thank you for your kind comments, we sometimes take this place for granted and it's good to be reminded how lucky we are and that you found it as beautiful as we do.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;