We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for Afternoon Tea”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went for Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Didn't stay at hotel so can't offer commentary but will say the afternoon tea is well worth booking. The best place I've been to and I've been to a lot being a loose tea aficionado. Lovely staff, super service and well - book it yourself to try the tea and food; everything it was advertised to be.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britomartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    238
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
137
415
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

After the disasterous stay at Jolyon 10 in Cardiff it was reassuring to find The Angel was as good as most of your reviewers suggested. An old coaching inn of great character which has had a tastful Farrow & Ball style refurb. Friendly efficient welcome, "you have been upgraded" was an encouraging start although the room we were attocated (11) was not exactly large, (one wondered what a standard room was like!) small but funtional bathroom with excellent shower ( no room for a bath but who needs one when the shower is so good.) We were on the Michelin Star package so had "The Tea", wonderful, better than the Ritz or Waldorf! No need for dinner after that. Breakfast too was excellent. After which we went shopping and found amongst others The Art Shop, worthy of a review in its own right. We also visited The Sugarloaf Vineyard. Then dinner at The Walnut Tree which was splendid and certainly lived up to its Michelin Star. Breakfast in the Foxhunter Bar, the main resturant was being redecorated, completed our visit in fine style.

Room Tip: Only saw one room, beware of "upgrade"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is our second visit for high tea to the Angel Hotel, and again it was of the highest quality. Well worth the 2 hour drive to get there. Staff very helpful and polite. Will be back again next year for our annual visit. All food was of very high quality, the sandwiches, hot bites, the warm scone with fresh cream and delicious jam, and of course the cakes. TIP: If you can not manage to eat all your cakes etc. you are allowed to take them home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0uple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Angel Hotel is a lovely departure from the other accomodations in Abergavenny. Located conveniently on the cobble stone main street, within easy walking distance to the Borough Theatre and Farmers Market for lots of activities. A generous English breakfast with additional side dishes was included with our room tariff and was served by a cheerful staff eager to accomodate our wishes.

The Hunter Bar was well attended by regulars and hotel guests. The food... "farm to table"...delicious and imaginative...and the local people we met were most friendly. We dined three nights at the Hotel for Dinner and, again, wonderful service and a varied menu. Other restaurants are nearby in town or if you have a car... there are more choices. Parking in the rear of the Hotel is free, plus for overflow, a public car park is located just across the street.

Renovated since purchase 10 years ago, the hotel exudes an understated elegance and the owners are now completing the Dining Room restoration.
Some bedrooms are still in the process of being renovated...ours was comfortable, clean and overlooked the front entrance and the hillside beyond the town.

The owners' mother is an artist and is the proprietor of The Art Shop a few doors down the street. She told us much of the history of the Hotel and her artistic influence is felt throughout the hotel in the choice of gracious furnishings, soft colors and sparkling white woodwork.

The staff was most helpful...from Booking to Wi-Fi hookup...to directions and our final goodbye. We look forward to returning...as we felt very spoiled and rested.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will have some noise from traffic or late night revelers. But if you call th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerwindNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed for an excellent weekend with friends. Linked to a meal at the Walnut Tree. The hotel is largely finished after a major refurb and is very comfortable. it was busy, but we were most impressed with the quality of the staff. Also excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwmsStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This wasn't a cheap experience but we had a lovely week-end at The Angel on their break in conjunction with "The Walnut Tree".
We had the dinner on the Saturday with the wonderful Champagne High Tea on Sunday, this left Friday evening free for a great meal at "The Hardwick".
We had Room #9, a king size room at the front of the hotel, no bath but a double walk-in shower. The bed was very comfortable and the room was a great size. There is a far amount of traffic noise but we had ear-plugs and you have the benefit of being right in the centre of town.
There was room in the car-park but the nearest public car-park is right next to the hotel one.

We had a very good Mojito before dinner on Saturday. Sunday breakfast was a bit limited so if you fancy the Smoked Haddock or Smoked salmon & scrambled eggs have them on Saturday. Breakfast finished at 10am on both days and as everyone came down at once at around 9.30 on the Sunday, the staff struggled slightly.

The Champagne High Tea was wonderful and we were able to have it in the courtyard. It was a nice touch to box up the cakes for us to take home.

It was all a great anniversary treat.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a great size but take ear plugs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjaunce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Angel is a lovely Hotel in a superb spot.
We have stayed at the Angel on three occasions.
Twice in the Autumn and in this year, 2012, in the Spring.
We love the Angel, it's special, unusual and charming.
The atmosphere is lovely, the staff are helpful and pleasant.
( maybe it's your attitude towards them if they are not!!)
We have alway had a very enjoyable stay.
For some time The Angel has been
undergoing a renovation process which is being done tastefully
and discretely. Thankfully the lift is now in operation.
During our last stay the front restaurant was
being revamped, we dined in an alternative part of the hotel
which was fine,( looking forward to seeing the improvements!)
Our last stay was at the end April 2012, our bedroom was
Number 11, recently refurbished. The room is tasteful and
beautifully finished with ajoining bathroom with walk in shower.
A slight criticism! They advertise the room as having a king size
bed, in fact it is only a queen, which presents a problem, if,as
ourselves you have a 'King' at home and need extra space.
(Please 'Angel' rectify this as it is misleading!)
On a plus, the bed was blissfully comfortable.
The room is over the bar which was OK for us but could be
noisy if you want total peace and quiet.
We had Dinner on our first evening in the restaurant which was
superb. Breakfast on each day was also superb, plenty of choice
to suit all tastes plus lovely helpful waiting staff. Full Marks.
The Hunter Bar is brilliant. Proven by the fact that so many locals
use it. The bar meal menu is good, the meals varied and delicious,
crab salad, ceaser salad, all the favourites and loads more to choose.
The bar is always very busy, you can't book a table, so pot luck,
get in early!
Award winning afternoon tea is not to be missed.
Not much to criticize, loads to praise about this hotel we love it.
A brilliant location. A great place. See you again soon Angel!

Room Tip: If you want space don't choose 11 0r 16! They are lovely! But small! A good number of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
500 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing