We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room / Great breakfast”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed overnight in the middle of our most recent snowfest! Very nice refurbished room, quiet and really good shower. Breakfast in morning - lots thick bacon, big sausage, fried egg, beans, mushrooms, black pudding & fried bread (don't like tomato in the morning). Toast & loose leaf tea (unusual). Recommend this if you like old fashioned comfort.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

Had previously booked a premium double room, but asked on arrival if they had anything bigger. They offered us the more expensive 'Lodge', but at the same price as the double. They couldn't have been more helpful, all the staff were so nice. 'The lodge' was really lovely, secluded, quaint and very cosy, situated just inside the castle grounds, so although away from the main hotel -not even a minutes walk- it was well worth staying in. If I had to find fault, which is difficult, it's that they don't do lunches. (hence the rating) You could have a selection of sandwiches and/or high tea, but a few people did come in looking for something more. Overall though it was a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella500C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge.

I am confused in regards to The Angel not serving lunch, as our lunch hours are as follows:

12.00pm – 2.30pm (Monday – Sunday; lunch served in The Oak Room & Foxhunter Bar)
2.30pm – 5.30pm (Monday – Sunday; afternoon tea served in The Wedgewood room)

We are very proud of our staff, and I am pleased you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My friend and I met here for a meal, she was running late and I waited in the bar,which was very busy, the staff were wonderful, and although we had'nt booked, managed to get us a table in the restaurant.
The food was wonderful, we both chose the salad, my companion added the chicken option to hers, we were presented with lots of extras, and the service was excellent. The dining room would benefit from some large rugs to absorb the sound, (we had a large table of lively toddlers and children next to us). The hotel is gorgeous, and lounge very inviting a lovely place to relax and enjoy coffee after your meal. We stayed in here until 12.30am and did'nt want to leave.
I hope to be back asap, wonderful. Beware the alcoholic drinks are on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

If you want to explore Wales especially Abergavenny then The Angel is a good place to stay.

With a central location and off road parking, The Angel is a welcoming establishment to spend a couple of days in Abergavenny.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dashwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We celebrated my lovely Mums birthday with a lovely afternoon high tea. The Angel is beautifully decorated and they have a dedicated room especially for afternoon tea. Crisp linen, best china and friendly service. We went on a Monday and it was full so I recommend you book.

The High Tea includes savouries, sandwiches, pastries, trifle and scones ......and a choice of teas that is vast. All were mouth-wateringly scrumptious. We could not eat it all!!! Excellent value for £20. Mum had the Dragons Well tea! I opted for vanilla and the boys had coffee. Ask for a take away box if you can't finish it, they are more than happy to do that.

Lovely atmosphere, room was full of people quietly celebrating special occasions. The Angel has won awards for their afternoon teas and I am sure it will win more. This was my second visit and I look forward to the third.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Visit the hotel bar regularly. Nice surroundings. Decent bar if a little small. Only real ales, could do with a smooth beer. Draught Grolsch is good however. Nice toilets, worth a visit for those!! Overall nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank StanBrynmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Visited the Angel this week to celebrate my wife's birthday. My daughters treat. We booked in for afternoon tea. We had the choice of tea or the high tea so for the extra £3 per head we opted for the more extravagant high tea. We were unsure what we would get although they list the various delights on offer, pastries sandwiches and cakes etc, how much you get however was an unknown. Well, how pleased we were when it arrived. The 3 tier stands delivered very professionally to the table were full of a wide range of finger sized pastries, sandwiches and cakes all of which were exceptional. The choices of tea was also extensive I choose the Ceylon my wife the Angel and my daughter Earl Grey, there were many more on offer to cover all tastes. When we had finished all that was on offer we were asked were we ready for the scones, cream and jam. Well we had to make room for that!!! The few pieces of cake left were neatly wrapped and boxed and given to us to take home. It may be expensive at £21 a head but its not every day you would opt for high tea so do it...at least once. I will be going back for my birthday in August. Thanks Dano

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gaandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range: £97 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing