We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at the Angel”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the Angel”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We arranged to meet with members of the family for a late Saturday breakfast - 10 of us, including 5 children.

The breakfasts provided were great, varying from a full cooked English breakfast to a hot chocolate and pain au chocolate. The food was of excellent standard, the facilities were good and the staff very patient. A great place to meet up with the family.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michaelabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    238
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
137
415
23
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely elegant atmosphere Old hotel but in excellent condition with tasteful decoration.Staff not local but could not be more helpful. Bar snacks great with a fantastic breakfast in morning.location perfect right in the middle of the quaint town of Abergavenny.Train station in walking distance straight in to Cardiff or wherever takes your fancy.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stopped for 1 night and had 2 days there using the conference room, staff were friendly, room was very nice with a bathroom that looked brand new and sparkling, evening meal in the resurant was very good indeed followed the next morning with a hearty full English breakfast.
Arrived on Market day which meant that the carpark was overflowing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful, we had a lovely relaxing time. The indulgent package was excellent and good value, the chocolate strawberries were delicious. Staff were friendly and food was fabulous, a good range of dishes. Loved the superfood salad. Will definitely be returning. I never write reviews so this should indicate what a lovely place the Angel Hotel is!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in the middle of our most recent snowfest! Very nice refurbished room, quiet and really good shower. Breakfast in morning - lots thick bacon, big sausage, fried egg, beans, mushrooms, black pudding & fried bread (don't like tomato in the morning). Toast & loose leaf tea (unusual). Recommend this if you like old fashioned comfort.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Had previously booked a premium double room, but asked on arrival if they had anything bigger. They offered us the more expensive 'Lodge', but at the same price as the double. They couldn't have been more helpful, all the staff were so nice. 'The lodge' was really lovely, secluded, quaint and very cosy, situated just inside the castle grounds, so although away from the main hotel -not even a minutes walk- it was well worth staying in. If I had to find fault, which is difficult, it's that they don't do lunches. (hence the rating) You could have a selection of sandwiches and/or high tea, but a few people did come in looking for something more. Overall though it was a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella500C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge.

I am confused in regards to The Angel not serving lunch, as our lunch hours are as follows:

12.00pm – 2.30pm (Monday – Sunday; lunch served in The Oak Room & Foxhunter Bar)
2.30pm – 5.30pm (Monday – Sunday; afternoon tea served in The Wedgewood room)

We are very proud of our staff, and I am pleased you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My friend and I met here for a meal, she was running late and I waited in the bar,which was very busy, the staff were wonderful, and although we had'nt booked, managed to get us a table in the restaurant.
The food was wonderful, we both chose the salad, my companion added the chicken option to hers, we were presented with lots of extras, and the service was excellent. The dining room would benefit from some large rugs to absorb the sound, (we had a large table of lively toddlers and children next to us). The hotel is gorgeous, and lounge very inviting a lovely place to relax and enjoy coffee after your meal. We stayed in here until 12.30am and did'nt want to leave.
I hope to be back asap, wonderful. Beware the alcoholic drinks are on the expensive side.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
500 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing