We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch for 3”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
newport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch for 3”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the Angel yesterday with my mum and partners mum. Just rather disappointed in the meal we had for the price we paid. The menu is vast and the description for each choice is in depth. Mums only wanted a light lunch but the toasted sandwich at £7.50 sounded out of the ordinary, when in fact it was very much ordinary. Two pieces of bread with one slice of cheese and ham and a hint of caramelised onion. To accompany that was a handful of mixed lettuce leaves. Over £3 extra if u wanted chips to go with it.
It was just a toastie in the true sense of the word and well overpriced.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank csijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you felt the toasted sandwich was ordinary and overpriced.

The toasted ham sandwich is £7.90; with chips £8.90.

The ham and cheese toasted sandwich is served on beer bread with two slices of mature Cheddar cheese; the ham is cooked, glazed and carved in house with a fairly generous spoon of onion jam (although not too much to over-power) plus our house Mayonnaise as well.

We are not trying to create a pompous toasted sandwich, yet instead making an "ordinary" toasted sandwich tasty from fresh quality ingredients.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    235
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
133
406
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a wonderful sunday lunch of Roast beef the hotel is an excellent place to eat,i have been here a few times now and have always had great food here.The service is also very good which is nice to see as the hotel was quite busy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Sunday Lunch review.

I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto the appropriate team members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We've just spent two days and nights at the Angel hotel and had a lovely time. On arrival we received a complimentary upgrade of our room which was a nice surprise. Bar area was lovely, breakfast yummy, staff very friendly and room was very nice. The only negative comment we have is that our room was overlooking the high street and we were woken a few times during the night drunken noise. However, would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at The Angel.

I am sorry the drunken noise from the street was disturbing, yet it is lovely to read you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel Mon 28th Oct 2013 and found it excellent in every way from each individual member of staff, to the menu and serving of the dinner and breakfast and most importantly a delightfully decorated bedoom, spotlessly clean and well presented. Hugely recommend this beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel. Sandie & Chris Russell

Room Tip: Room 5 was our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay; I will make sure to pass on your comments to our team.

We hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have visited The Angel many times over the last 10 years. Our early experiences were as visitors to the town but since moving to Abergavenny our visits have become more frequent. Whatever the occasion you can be sure of great food,great service from friendly and efficient staff.
The booking system for meals or accommodation is excellent. The reception staff welcoming and bar and restaurant staff organised and efficient also.
I have read many reviews from those visiting the town but I feel very strongly that those of us who live here and as such visit more often are perhaps better qualified to judge the quality of establishments locally especially as competition is so strong. We have never been disappointed with our visits the most recent this Monday for high tea with visiting Scottish friends staying at the hotel. The day before I entertained 12 guests for Sunday lunch, a booking made some months ago but the staff still remembered my wife was celebrating her birthday..
Congratulations to The Angel, we have seen you go from strength to strength in recent years making many improvements to the facilities for the benefit of the customers.
Finally thank you to Janet who made Sunday very special for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to note that your stay at The Angel lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed at The Angel before with my husband and always enjoyed the experience. This time I went with a friend. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded from a standard room to a room in the mews. The accommodation was first class with a comfortable sleeping/sitting area and a spectacular bathroom. It seemed to us that no expense had been spared during the refurbishment processs. The food (breakfasts and dinner) was of good quality and served by friendly and efficient staff. The bar with a cozy log fire is a great place to have a drink and reflect on the day.

OUT and ABOUT:
We decided that instead of driving we would take the train. We found it an easy walk from the station to the hotel even though we are classed as senior citizens. There was plenty to keep us busy during our 2 day stay. A walk through the meadows by the river, visits to the castle/museum, tithe barn and priory church, exploring the shops and market. One day we took the train to Hereford (one stop--25min) and walked to the wonderful cathedral where we saw the Mappa Mundi and chained library as well as the other attractions including the cloister cafe.

A highly enjoable couple of days and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenM487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Angel again.

I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade to The Mews, the cozy Foxhunter Bar, and your dining experiences were good quality and served by friendly and efficient staff.

We certainly strive to provide quality service throughout all areas of the hotel and I am happy to read that you found this to be true.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

..been to the Angel for afternoon tea.....again.If you visit the town pop in and try it for yourself...you will not be disappointed.The staff are excellent....attentive,but not overbearing and really make you feel at home.The 'TEA' is a real treat.We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent feedback.

I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto the appropriate staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Mangager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing