We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed one night at the Angel. It was lovely, great big room overlooking the street. The bed was very comfortable. The old Hotel has been completely redone. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning. It was amazing and only 5 pounds. The guy at the front desk was very helpful and was able to get us into our room early. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrtod2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Angel along with breakfast the following morning. I will pass on your kind comments to Tom at reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    235
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
133
406
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My daughter and son in law took my husband and myself for afternoon tea for our 45 wedding anniversary.We had a lovely time and thought the experience wonderful,we had a lovely time,I hope to return on many occasions.The hotel looked very nice and the staff serving us were very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreawilliams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased we were able to help make your 45th wedding anniversary special.

Thank you for posting your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have been here twice now for Afternoon Tea and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times and is on a par with some of London's finest afternoon teas. The hotel is really easy to find and a teeny walk from a large car park in Abergavenny. The decor is stunning and it is very welcoming and not too stuffy. The service team are really knowledgable and professional. Would highly recommend this as a gift as it is wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EmSki1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed afternoon tea again at The Angel.

We have been working very hard on our refurbishments; I am glad you found the decor stunning and very comfortable.

I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto the appropriate staff members.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our daughters gave us a voucher for a two night stay at The Angel.We were upgraded to a room in the Mews which was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked. We had a meal at The Walnut Tree on our first night and a wonderful High tea on our second day. Even if you do not stay at the hotel the tea is a must,especially for a special occasion.All the staff were very nice and helpful. The only complaint I have was the weather and I am sure the receptionist would have sorted that out if he could. All in all a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Angel. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. The Walnut Tree is a lovely place to enjoy an evening meal and I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and high tea at The Angel.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the Angel yesterday with my mum and partners mum. Just rather disappointed in the meal we had for the price we paid. The menu is vast and the description for each choice is in depth. Mums only wanted a light lunch but the toasted sandwich at £7.50 sounded out of the ordinary, when in fact it was very much ordinary. Two pieces of bread with one slice of cheese and ham and a hint of caramelised onion. To accompany that was a handful of mixed lettuce leaves. Over £3 extra if u wanted chips to go with it.
It was just a toastie in the true sense of the word and well overpriced.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank csijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you felt the toasted sandwich was ordinary and overpriced.

The toasted ham sandwich is £7.90; with chips £8.90.

The ham and cheese toasted sandwich is served on beer bread with two slices of mature Cheddar cheese; the ham is cooked, glazed and carved in house with a fairly generous spoon of onion jam (although not too much to over-power) plus our house Mayonnaise as well.

We are not trying to create a pompous toasted sandwich, yet instead making an "ordinary" toasted sandwich tasty from fresh quality ingredients.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a wonderful sunday lunch of Roast beef the hotel is an excellent place to eat,i have been here a few times now and have always had great food here.The service is also very good which is nice to see as the hotel was quite busy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Sunday Lunch review.

I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto the appropriate team members.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We've just spent two days and nights at the Angel hotel and had a lovely time. On arrival we received a complimentary upgrade of our room which was a nice surprise. Bar area was lovely, breakfast yummy, staff very friendly and room was very nice. The only negative comment we have is that our room was overlooking the high street and we were woken a few times during the night drunken noise. However, would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at The Angel.

I am sorry the drunken noise from the street was disturbing, yet it is lovely to read you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing