We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business presentation & dinner”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business presentation & dinner”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Consistenly good professional service, great for our small meetings and dinner never disappoints. The staff are always very friendly, courteous and nothing is too much trouble. The ballroom is a fabulous venue and the atmosphere and the ambience of the whole hotel scores very highly.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms as we only use the hotel for meetings and dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always a pleasure to read when our regular customers have consistently professional and good service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    241
    66
    32
    9
See reviews for
146
426
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As usual a warm welcome by the staff, good place for a conference in the centre of town.
Lovely breakfast and buffetlunch. Cakes for tea was excellent!! Room clean and warm , plenty of room. I will hopefully come again, parking is limited however.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read your conference went well and you had a warm welcome, lovely breakfast and buffet lunch followed by excellent cakes and tea.

I am sorry to read you had trouble parking however there is a large metered car park across from the hotel which has about 250 car parking spaces.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This Hotel was smashing. The staff could not do enough for us. The room was cosy with a great en suite. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast kept us going all day. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and is well placed in the centre of Abergavenny.I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that your recent visit to The Angel was smashing and you enjoyed food in The Oak Room along with breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I've stayed several times at The Angel in the last few years. I usually eat there too when I'm in Abergavenny. I'm always struck by two things. One, how good the service is, professional yet also welcoming and friendly, with no pretensions. The other is a quality that feels somehow old-fashioned, in a good way: that this hotel could make anyone feel at home, whatever their background. The restaurant is smart but not offputting; on the other side of reception is the wood panelled Foxhunter bar which doesn't seem to have changed much since I first saw it forty years ago, though on closer inspection it's been carefully updated with contemporary paint and lighting, and in winter has a most welcoming log fire in the corner at all times. The same menu is available in both restaurant and bar. Too many hotels today are either posey or grungey; this is just nice, whoever you are.
My only complaint about the very comfortable deluxe room I was upgraded to: no light bright enough to read by. This annoying hip hotel habit doesn't suit The Angel!

Room Tip: Nice to be on Cross Street - quiet, but a feeling of being connected to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puckdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review; in particular commenting on the good service, and that we were able to make you feel at home.

I have noted your comment regarding a brighter light beside the bed.

We hope to welcome you back long before another forty years!

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The occasion of my Father's 90th birthday, and his twin brother (yes, really!) needed somewhere very special. And I'm delighted to say that The Angel Hotel lived up to its fine reputation.

We took advantage of the occasion and booked in for both Saturday and Sunday night. We'd left it too late to book into the restaurant for Saturday night but the bar meal (same menu), for 9 guests, was superb. The food was excellent and the service was exemplary (pl. pass our compliments to Eva for looking after us so very well).

The Sunday lunch, in the private Brecon Room, was again faultless. Service for 19 guests was impeccable, the food was wonderful and, because of all this, the birthday party was a great success. Many thanks to Anna and her colleague.

Breakfast, on the "morning after", both Sunday and Monday, was again exactly what was required. Not often will I comment upon the quality of eggs but the scrambled and poached eggs were beautiful (as was the remainder of the 'Full') . . .

Father, Uncle, a friend and my young son had also booked in and were very pleased with their rooms in the main building but we were in the beautiful mews (room 33). What a great room, comfy beds and fantastic shower !

If I've over-gushed about this hotel, it's because of the fabulous experience we had. We could not have been better looked after or catered for. It was simply terrific . . .

Thank you Angel, looking forward to our next visit !

Room Tip: Loved the Mews Room 33, quiet comfy and great shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wocky48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted we were able to take part in your father and his twin brothers 90th Birthday celebrations and made it memorable.

I will make sure to share this lovely review with Ana and the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back soon, for another treat.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What we liked: Very high quality service, quality of room, quality of set dinner/value for money, breakfast menu, in terms of value for money the service was excellent, staff went the extra mile to make our stay feel special (initially there were no tables available for dinner so resigned our selves to eating in bar, receptionist tracked us down 1 hour later to tell us a table was available. Pianist in bar/dinning room). flower and bottled water in room.
What could be improved: Bed in room was a bit too soft for me, room very nice but a bit small. Disappointed in Abergavenny, stopped in Ludlow for lunch - a lot nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUNALISTAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the service and quality of The Angel.

We work very hard to try and provide exceptional service; I am delighted you found this to be true.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lampeter
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was my husband special birthday so I thought he would love the offering from the Angel Hotel called a foodie delight. This package offers two nights in one of the superior rooms, together with champagne high tea and dinner at the Michelin Walnut Tree some short distance from the Hotel, a taxi to take you and bring you back also included in the package. First I am reviewing The Angel's part of the package and it was consistently good. The moment we arrived they delivered by surprise (knowing it was husband's birthday) a bottle of champagne and some canapes absolutely delightful. We simply loved the High Tea, the choice, the service was memorable. The room comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The Angel Hotel cannot be faulted for it's part of the package. Unfortunately we were somewhat disappointed with the service and food at the Walnut Tree. This was the special part of the package and was simply a let down in comparison. The food not of the best (Michelin quality) and the service somewhat offhand and minimal. I have done a review on this part separately because it would be unfair to review the Angel and include this element, although of course they are the same organisation and offering a joint package. Thank you Angel staff for making part of our visit memorable. Shame about the Walnut Tree.

Room Tip: We had a very comfortable and well equipped room facing the front of the building, which sits in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lampey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased The Angel was consistently good with your foodies delight break, yet sorry to read The Walnut Tree was a disappointment.

Thank you for your taking the time to post your valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
517 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
938 reviews
18.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing