We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star in every way!”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“5 star in every way!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in the Angel Hotel and everything from the service to the food to the accommodation was first class! The Hotel has been refurbished to exacting standards and not one inch of the Hotel isn't perfect! Congratulations to whoever did the refurbishment!

Friendly efficient staff helped to make this a wonderful last minute break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanlubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay at The Angel Hotel. I am delighted to read that you felt everything from the service to the food to the accommodation was first class..

I look forward to sharing your kind comments with The Angel Team and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    235
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
133
406
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed for two nights in the Castle Cottage we were blown away by the accommodation and the hotel itself. The accommodation we were in being set on the edge of the car park I was initially concerned our experience would be more similar to a holiday rental but they really did service it like any other room in the main building.

The restaurant ambience was very comfortable and the food and wine list of a high quality with plenty of choice.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break whether exploring the area for the first time or the hundredth.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semybazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at The Angel.

I am delighted to read that you were also able to enjoy food and wine in our Oak Room which made for a very comfortable experience .

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I have had the privilege of being a guest at this hotel more than thirty times. The best in the area in terms of service, hospitality and food. Rooms are small but updated. Restaurant is very good and I would recommend having a meal at the hotel even if you are not a guest. Small but charming bar. Recommend.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read you feel the hotel is the best in the area in terms of service, hospitality and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My boyfriend and I often go there for a drink followed by a dinner.The staff is extremely friendly, attentive and makes you feel special.There is a nice atmosphere both at the bar and in the restaurant.We ate there on many occasions and we never had to complain: The food is good but not amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you enjoy coming into the hotel for a drink and dinner.

The hotel strives to achieve a friendly environment, with good quality food and beverage; I am glad you find this to be true.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had a belated valentines dinner for two in the Oak Room restaurant last Saturday night.
It was just one of the best dinners I have ever had! and great value at £25p.p for 3 fabulous courses.
Lovely atmosphere,very helpful friendly staff,beautiful food.
Live locally so will be returning for that 'special evening'another time,can't wait.

Karl Jones,ex Angel dj.
Monmouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLASHPHEASANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review.

I am so pleased to read you had such a fantastic Valentine’s Dinner in The Oak Room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We eat at this hotel very frequently absolutely love the hotel, food is always of a very high standard, and I can say the same of the staff too but I really do feel that it is now time to change or even just add some new dishes to the menu please.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you absolutely love The Angel; and you feel the food and staff are of very high standard.

We always change the menu monthly; replacing seasonal and less favourable items and keep the most popular; however the format of the menu remains the same.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stay in the Angel Hotel on most of my business trips to this region, the staff are friendly, attentive and courteous. The Hotel has that 'old world' charm with very good bar food and one of the best breakfasts I've had in a hotel. The executive rooms are comfortable and well equipped. I already look forward to my next stay in the Angel Hotel Abergavenny. - Steve Dew-

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an executive room as this makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We value your continued support and look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel soon.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing