We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with pretentions.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel with pretentions.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel has had a major refurb since most of the photos were posted and thank goodness our (standard) room had its own air con unit. There's an air of elegance noted when ambling around the corridors and main rooms. The interior designers have had a field day but have succeeded in creating a slightly clinical atmosphere. However on the whole this hotel did not live up to our expectations - we have experienced better not too far away at half the price. What a delight though to take afternoon tea in the courtyard, along with many others who had the same idea on a beautiful warm summer's day. The unnecessarily cluttered table ( dainty plates and teeny bowls en masse !) left little space to savour the delights of unexciting sandwiches on ditto breads and rather limp lettuce. Indeed the best part of this experience were the friendly helpful staff. I couldn't resist a full breakfast which although hyped as 'local produce' etc offered a solid tasteless sausage and bland bacon..... again on a very cluttered table which became difficult to eat at and which took oh so long to arrive. My partner was on the verge of going to Luigi's next door for his breakfast. Additionally he was displeased that after ordering coffee the cafetiere barely yielded one cup, The room we stayed in on the first floor was pretty sparse but ok - colour matched and neat! There was no room for bedside tables for our junk instead there was a large shelf above the pillows. We did not like the arrangement of bed clothes and had some concerns about hygiene. We've never before stayed in a hotel where the duvet is not enclosed in a fastened cover. This one was merely placed between two sheets so of course with twists and turns during the night we found ourselves sleeping directly under the duvet with the protective sheets disappearing off the bottom of the bed. The en suite bathroom had a super shower but there were no hooks to hang anything on and neither was there a shelf so all potions, toothbrushes etc needed to remain in the bedroom. We loved the hustle and bustle around but probably wouldn't choose to stay here again as there are much better options.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elin187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with the atmosphere and items on the tables during your meals which resulted in the hotel not living up to your expectations.

Please feel free to contact me in the future as I would be delighted to offer you an alternative hotel in Abergavenny which would be more suitable to your needs.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    229
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
131
393
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackwater, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed at the Angel at least five times and will stay again.The staff are absolutely marvellous and will do anything to help .We had a party of 16 for dinner and it went off great,once again the staff made it!!!Our one "lady"who goes above and beyond to make us feel welcome, and we do really feel like we are coming home.The rooms are always clean and the brass fittings of the hotel are always gleaming.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good ,but if you want quiet the back rooms are best but if you like to see the hus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to read you have once again enjoyed our lovely staff, and your evening meal.

We hope to welcome you “home” again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slapton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel rooms are very cosy, tastefully decorated and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful & the food is very good. Just ate in the bar but the selection was extensive and the service was impeccable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank III7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.

I am pleased to read you thought the rooms were very cosy, tastefully decorated, clean , good food and the staff very friendly and helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel on a whim, arrived 15 minutes after booking! Room was last available but was an adequate size and cleaned to a high standard, my only problem was that the room was extremely hot, a fan had been provided but it really wasn't strong enough baring in mind we stayed on a pretty miserable day I would hate to think how hot it would be on a warm day. That really needs looking into (aircon unit perhaps?)
Meal in the restaurant was fantastic, service matched too. Great atmosphere in the bar after for some drinks too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to read your room was hot, however this summer has been unusually warm. We do have air conditioning in some of our rooms however these rooms were all fully booked.

I am pleased to read that overall you felt you made a great last minute decision.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Angel for one night as we had booked a table at the Walnut Tree. When we arrived we informed that we had been upgraded! We were shown to our room was was in the Mews in a building just outside the main hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable and we soon relaxed, so much so that we fell asleep after sampling some of the fine real ale on offer in the bar! Thankfully we did wake up in time to get changed for our trip to the Walnut Tree. Thanks for making our stay very special. Would highly recommend to everyone to stay here. Sad that we missed the cream tea, as the Angel has been voted the best place outside of London for the quality of its cream teas.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the Mews. Peaceful and relaxing. Would like to have seen the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delilah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the Foodies Delight Break; it is a real treat.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Throughout the stay staff were really helpful. We had 1 night stay with meal in restaurant.
due to personal circumstances I had to push back our dinner booking twice, from 7:30 to 8:30 then to 9:00, after explaining why they were fine with this saying just get here when you can .... and even upgraded our room on arrival. Booking in was quick.
The room was on top floor overlooking the courtyard. Smart quirky room with slanting floors which was fun. Bath and shower, toiletries , selection of teas and biccies provided .
Downside Was a very hot room and double bed seemed small, although were used to a super king so may just be me lol. Could have left window open but am light sleeper so my choice not to.
Quiet in the night, no disruptions.
Had wake up call as promised. Main areas were tidy and clean throughout hotel.
Lovely breakfast consisting of cereal croissants fruit and full cooked. and again good service from staff .check out quick.
will stay again but will ask for bigger bed!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read the staff were very helpful, and flexible when changing your time of dinner.

I am sorry your room was very hot, however the weather has been very warm this summer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I note it's nearly a year since I last reviewed The Angel, looking back it was lunch with a friend in the restaurant, this time it was lunch with a friend in the lovely Courtyard. Again we decided to go for the seafood sharing platter, it was more expensive than I remember it but also improved. A big bowl of delightfully cooked mussels dominated the platter but there was plenty of room for generous servings of smoked salmon, langoustine, crab toasts, prawns, white crab meat, crayfish tails etc. It was accompanied by beautiful breads and a glass of chilled white wine and I was in foodie heaven, it really is one of the best summer lunches you'll find anywhere! Try to leave some room for a superb apricot tart served with home made amaretto ice cream that is simply sublime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed our seafood platter in the courtyard; the courtyard is such a lovely treat.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing