We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Courtyard Cottage

Courtyard Cottage at Hopyard Farm, Abergavenny
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Cottage at Hopyard Farm, Abergavenny
Courtyard Cottage Garden Courtyard Cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Courtyard Cottage at Hopyard Farm, Abergavenny
Courtyard Cottage Garden
Courtyard Cottage Lounge
Kitchen/Dining Room Courtyard Cottage
Games Room Hopyard Farm
Play area Hopyard Farm
Family Room Courtyard Cottage
Twin Bedroom Courtyard Cottage
Double Bedroom Courtyard Cottage
Play area Hopyard Farm
View of Usk Valley near Hopyard Farm
Monmouthshire Countryside
Kitchen Diner Courtyard Cottage
Games Room Hopyard Farm
Indoor Games Room Hopyard Farm
Winter Hopyard Farm
Courtyard Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HelenTJ20...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We hired Courtyard Farm Cottage for a family get together. I can't praise everything about it highly enough. We were unable to visit on our original date due to illness and the owners were kind enough to arrange an alternative date for us. Beautiful cottage, spotlessly clean in a fabulous location. The games room was a huge hit with the youngest to oldest of our party. It provided the perfect place to stay for our family of 14. Highly recommended, we can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2018
So pleased your family gathering was a success and thank you for your kind words about Courtyard Cottage. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaywood3...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place & Lovley Owners.”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Thank you to Diana & Bob who own the cottage, you made us all feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble... You have a fantastic place and we wouldn’t hesitate to return.

PS thanks for looking after my sons Monkey (BUMPY)

Many thanks The Haywood’s.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
So pleased you all had a good time with us in Courtyard Cottage and thank you for a wonderful review. Bumpy is enjoying his extended holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zara D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not even hesitate - book now!”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The house was everything we could ask for and the views more so! The games rooms was thoroughly enjoyed by all and a lovely touch to renting a property. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to book a quick weekend away with friends.

Make sure to take a trip to the Big Pit, it was a fantastic experience and the good humour of the old coal miners made it a very memorable day for us.

Thank you for your hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you for your fabulous review and pleased you had such a great weekend with your friends. Totally agree about Big Pit- so lucky to have it on our doorstep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddocd
abergwaun
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Very well equipped, comfortable large "cottage" ideal for a family gathering. Children well catered for with games room, outside play area and x-box for screen lovers. Very good cooking facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Pleased that we helped you enjoy your special occasion and time with your family. Diolch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristolia...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home in lovely location”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Three generations of our family stayed here in June for a weekend to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary. This was the second visit for my husband, son and I after we stayed with other family members 2 years previously and recommended it. The house is lovely -lots of space, very clean and included everything we needed. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into the house. We appreciated the local information provided and we made good use of the tennis court and games room (you'll need some 20ps for the pool/snooker tables). The surrounding area is lovely, although we found we were happy staying at the house most of the time. We would definitely recommend Courtyard Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. It was a pleasure welcoming your extended family for your special celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
233Amama
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booking Process: Very efficient & super quick to reply to emails.
My FAQ's: Always given an informative and very quick answer.
Our Stay: Owners are onsite and thus able to provide assistance where/when required.

The house is beautiful. Very clean, tidy and well equipped with lots of room for our party of 10. The outdoor games facilities are brilliant - we really really enjoyed playing badminton, tennis, volleyball & skittles (precious times altogether as a family). The indoor games room is superb - take some 20p pieces for the pool table.

We had a fabulous stay and have all taken away wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Its always great to see guests using the games facilities. A pleasure to welcome all your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic ! your search stops here !”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at his house we we very impressed the online pictures do not show how spacious this house is, it was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with everything you could need,everything in the house is of very good quality,
The games room is fantastic,and there is loads of safe room for children to play outside
The owners are extremely friendly and helpful ,the views are fantastic and there are good local walks from your doorstep, overall I could not fault our experience of our stay at hopyard ,
I would recommend this property to anybody who wants an ideal place to stay for a group of friends or family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience fantastic
Liked least: Could not fault the property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Such a lovely review, thank you so much and glad you enjoyed your family weekend at Hopyard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing