We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
22
21
20
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
21
20
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parklunch timepiecooked breakfastensuite
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The food here is fresh cooked, tasty and extremely good value. Daily specials are often under £5 for a main meal and there is a wide range of both mains and snacks. There is a good range of beers both local and guest ales.

The staff go out of their way to be friendly and obliging. The hotel is clean and centrally located close to the bus station and enroute from the railway station. Have not stayed here but have good reports from those that have.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a lovely, relaxed, centrally located hotel one minute walk from the bus station. The BR station is only a couple of minutes away on what appeared to be a shuttle bus to the station. I stayed in The Swan for a week while on business in Abergavenny and that made no difference. I stayed again the next week for another week. The décor is dated, but the room was quite large, no desk/chair, but the beds were comfortable and the shower was nice and powerful. Towels were provided and changed.

Kate and her staff looked after me very well and were very accommodating to requests, including phoning in an order for an evening meal. The food is very well cooked, tasted great and was reasonably priced. I ate there most evenings and the bar is frequented by locals also. On the couple of occasions I finished too late even to phone ahead, there was all manner of take away food available on the same street, and a supermarket right across the road.

They had some entertainment on some nights, and there's a car park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Turned up near midnight as an emergency and was taken in. Room clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast served by a friendly staff. Excellent value. The area is ideal for exploring the magnificent countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishtimoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Chose this hotel over others in the area due to it's reviews and wasn't diappointed. The hotel is very dated but I like that. What is important is cleanliness and it was. Cost of rooms was by far the cheapest. The Bar is popular with the locals and as our stay was a saturday night it was very busy. We chose to have a wander around the other local pubs and come back for a night cap.Jackie and Mark are lovely hosts and breakfast was superb. We will definetly returning in the warmer weather and staying in the family room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Visited for Sunday lunch and had a lovely meal. A choice of roasts with three veg, roast and boiled potatoes and, wait for it, cauliflower cheese - and all for £7.95. You really cannot fault this place for good quality home cooked food at very reasonable prices. Trying to resist the homemade desert was also futile!

I remember this pub from when I was a youngster, the only thing I would do then was walk past, now that would be a mistake. The new owners have transformed this hotel and are doing a great job of bringing it back to life - thank you.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Madtaffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews