We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay for a weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Hotel

Swan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Stay for a weekend”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We has a 3 night stay at the Swan and was not disappointed. The room was lovely and clean. As it is a pub, there were of course people down there and at times it could be a bit loud however it was quiet after 11pm. Rooms were secure and the breakfast was hearty and good. Nice location to the town and friendly staff. Would stay again and recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nightstalker1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salop Powys Hinterland.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over a Rugby w\e in Cardiff as an alternative to the inflated prices at Premier Inns etc for these occasions.£60 per night for a double room and breakfast.Caught the train in,only 40mins,had to stand though.
The room was more than adequate although the shower was a little cramped.Breakfast was VG and served in a very pleasant restaurant.The Bar was very much a "locals"venue and most certainly had the capability and capacity for enjoying themselves,there was" loud and live" music on the Saturday.
Ate out at "La Brasseria" (Italian) one night and "Boonta tee" (Thai) another both of which were VG.
All in all a reasonable choice and alternative to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Thankyou for the time spent there. We had the best time ever, food was great, staff and owners very helpfull and kind, good size room and very quiet for location, so we had a good night sleep as well.
Live music saturday night amazing. All in all u would recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cactusscry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had Sunday lunch at the hotel for the first time today and have to say that it was very good. My brother and I had Roast Beef and my son had Turkey. The meal was just like having a home cooked Sunday lunch, plenty of veg, very nice Yorkshire puds and a decent gravy .My son said that his dessert...the home made apple pie was the best he'd ever had.
The young waitress and bar tender were helpful and friendly too.
Will definitely go back again...oh...and it was very good value for money too !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

went to the swan hotel for family meal on the 5/1/2014 for a family meal for my daughters 18th birthday and I would recommend it to any one the staff was very friendly and the meal was very good and it was excellent value for money I would deffo go bk for a meal again in the near furture

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in a good size double room which was rather clean but seems like the proprietors don't want to spend any extra money to make this place better. Our duvet cover was torn and towels were gray and stained. It really doesn't cost a lot to get a new set of bed linen.
Breakfast was a tragicomedy. Table was not set up for breakfast, coffee was weak and disgusting, I wasn't even sure if it was coffee! Sausage was more like a sausage alike product.
A man serving us looked like he couldn't be bothered but at least he was funny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zatar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abergavenny hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a night here at short notice. Warm welcome from the staff for us and our 2 small dogs.

Room on second floor was basic but very clean and no complaints given the price.

As bar was busy we ate elsewhere and were a little perturbed on returning to find it packed with loud live music but it didn't reach our room so we got a good night's sleep.

No choice offered for breakfast but I would have chosen what we were given anyway and it was fresh, hot and tasty.

Overall just what we needed. Would certainly be happy to return if we are in area again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutland1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
831 reviews
4.2 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#11 of 30 in Abergavenny
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plas Derwen
Plas Derwen
#7 of 30 in Abergavenny
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 33 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel in Abergavenny the gateway to wales where the famous Abergavenny food festival takes place, we offer very competitive rates and we are family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing