We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and relaxed atmosphere”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved everything about it. Frome the moment we arrived we were treated as valued customers. The food was superb and the staff very knowlegable about the Menu.The interior was very clean and the decorating made you feel at home. I would definitely go back and mention this to all friends.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Aletta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    57
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Surprise”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although I have never been here before I would MOST certainly go back. We felt welcome just stepping through the door. Staff members were friendly and relaxed. I would never normally order Duck, but if all Restaurants could serve it the way "The Crown" does, that would be a definite yes in future.
I could honestly say that this was probably the best meal I had in many many years.
Thankyou to all at The Crown!!!! What an experience!
Ian and Aletta

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aletta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just had an excellent lunch with my wife and elderly Aunt. Highly recommended, oh, and the beer is good as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Service / Food and views”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This place is well off the beaten track about 3 miles north of Abergavenny.Definately worth a visit, especially on a warm day as the the views from the outside terrace are fantastic,

Great bar inside with 3/4 real ales in top condition (Bass / HPA were both v. good). Lunch menu was extensive but everything our party had was excellent, Scampi (real) and chips was first rate. A good wine list with something for everyone. Very charming and helpful service and bar staff.

If I lived near by this would be an amazing local so definately worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We often visit The Crown due to its amazing food and service, but this last time we went was even better than amazing meals we have there. We booked a table for 7:30 and had the most amazing menu, consisting of many unusual items. Set in the quaint countryside of Wales and situated in a beautiful and quite spot. I recommend The Crown to anyone who is in that area and whats good food and good, friendly service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing