We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like high-quality Thai home cooking”

Boonta Too Thai Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Possibly only Thai restaurant in abergavenny.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like high-quality Thai home cooking”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is on "Restaurant Row" in Abergavenny - Indian, Chinese and pizza, mostly. All bog standard but from decent to good. Boonta Too isn't bog standard - it's a bit quirky, but the food is not.

What gets me is that I can taste every single bloomin' ingredient. No basic curry mix here, every flavour is identifiable. It's as if I had gone to Thailand and been invited to the home of a local family and treated like an honoured guest.

Other reviewer said "fresh and authentic". Couldn't agree more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and can take own alcoholic drinks”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent food and good service. Bonus that you can take your own wine etc and no corkage .Dont let the entrance put you off, the seating is fine inside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Second visit here and both times the food has been fantastic. Sharing platter for two is a lovely starter and the Pad Thai gorgeous. The chef is a thai lady which shows in her fresh authentic cooking. Love the quirkiness and being able to take your own booze makes it very affordable. A local favourite.

Helpful?
1 Thank BethandAlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Main meal tasted like dish water”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Our starters were fantastic but I had green Thai chicken curry as my main corse and it simply tasted like fairy liquid I ate about two mouth fulls and began to feel ill. We then asked for the bill and for two starters two mains and two cans of drink our bill came to near £45 to expansive for food we couldn't eat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food I've had - very authentic restaraunt”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's easy to miss this place up above the street. When you go up, you may well notice the decor is dated (though clean), the building could do with refurbishing.... but this really doesn't matter one iota if you can get over that, as the place is a gem, and would be spoiled if modernised. Just a really authentic atmosphere full of genuine Thai artefacts, a genuinely Thai lady chef, the whole place has a magical feel to it.
The food is the best bit: absolutely gorgeous real Thai food. None of the MSG rubbish or gloop you get in many Chinese restaraunts these days, it's real good food, lovely flavours. In fact it was so good we went back ... 3 times in the next 2 weeks!
Bear in mind it's not licensed so you can't buy alchohol on site, though the owners are happy if you bring your own bottles.
Once you've found this place, if you enjoy real, authentic Thai food, you will be back again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stargemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boonta Too Thai Restaurant also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Boonta Too Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing