We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Asaph, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Was here over the weekend for my brothers wedding. Everything about the hotel was great,Rooms were lovely,Food was delicious,Service was great and friendly. Especially Ron the bartender and Ken the night porter,Made me and my family very welcome. Would defiantly come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    125
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
74
297
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a very relaxing three nights at this hotel. We avoided going at the weekend as they seem to be busy then with wedding parties. The hotel itself has the style of a historic country house set amidst beautiful countryside.The bedroom was comfortable, although a few cobwebs in the corner suggested that housekeeping needs to be addressed a little more thoroughly. The bathroom was modern and clean:even though it was not large we had plenty of shelving space for our toiletries.The view from the bedroom window was of a lake (what a pity it is so weed covered!) with a little private church beyond it,providing the perfect venue for a wedding.
The star of the show at this hotel was undoubtedly the food which was absolutely superb. Although the hotel doesn't yet possess a Michelin star, I feel sure that it is only a matter of time before it gets one. The tasting menu on our first night was delightful, but the nine courses defeated us, even though we would class ourselves as big eaters!!How one of the other reviewers of this hotel could possibly say that they had left the table hungry is absolutely beyond my comprehension! I actually preferred our second and third nights when we simply chose the set menu. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and demonstrated really skillful cooking. On those two evenings we avoided feeling over-full as we had done after trying to eat all of the tasting menu.
Certain parts of the hotel have a slightly shabby feel, no doubt indicative of the huge maintenance costs involved in running a house of this age.However, we found the staff to be extremely pleasant and always keen to help whilst at the same time keeping a low profile. We had the lounge and the log fire to ourselves on several occasions.The hotel would not suit those looking for night life or people who want a spa and leisure centre (none exists).On the other hand,if you simply want to relax in front of a real log fire, in quiet surroundings and indulge in gourmet cuisine, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the lake and check the size of the bed if you don't want a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catkin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a shame....we went to Llansantffraid Court with high expectations of an afternoon tea to remember,especially since it was a celebratory tea(to celebrate a 90th Birthday).But unfortunately
our expectations were not fulfilled: the cakes 'elements' of the table were pre- bought and not home produced,and the attention to the special dietary needs of one of the party was frankly disappointing(almost inedible gluten-free bread!)
.The service and attention to detail for afternoon tea at Llansantffraid Court was obviously not up to the standard(s) experienced by others of evening meals in the Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidR180647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Rather belatedly, I must record my thanks and appreciation to Lauren and the team for a superb Wedding Reception.
We stayed the night before and the night of the wedding, our accommodation was extremely comfortable,if a little tired.Food was excellent, both the night before and at the reception. Service was seamless - in particular thanks to Charlotte and Ron who looked after our party.
Beautiful venue,magnificent grounds,excellent staff
Thank you!

Room Tip: Best views to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding, the place is ideal for this, the food was very good, and the staff very helpful, breakfast was excellent, you can see they have Chef who knows what he is doing, but £130 a night is far to much, the rooms are dated and are need of a update, old furniture, very old bathrooms, hand held showers, piece of wood in the light control, you cannot expect people to pay premium prices for the type of accommodation, but overall a great wedding in ideal surroundings, just sort the rooms out

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank klouie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Brington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We live locally and for quite a few years visited on a regular basis. Last year on a few occasions, we felt that the standard had "slipped". We recently found out that the Llansanffraed had a new Chef and he had brought his Team with him from a Michelin Star Restaurant in South Wales. What can I say, the service was second to none and the food was exceptional - yes we will return on a monthly basis as we did in the past. A very big thank you to one and all, we are truly spoilt!!

Go and try it for yourselves - you will not be disappointed.

GNT

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TINA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for a gourmet break and the food was AMAZING. They have new chefs with Michelin Star experience and it really showed. Every aspect of our meal from the complimentary canapés with our pre-dinner drinks to the chocolates with coffee was a delight and a superb set of tastes and textures. We have travelled the world and this was one of the best meals of the last 40 years. The wine list is great with single glass options for most wines which is so unusual. You get charged 1/4 of the bottle price for 1/4 of the bottle!!!

Hotel staff can very attentive and friendly. Overall a wonderful, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
19.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing