We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you're a foodie go to this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
236 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“if you're a foodie go to this place!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Has the tzoo taster excellent offer! We have tried many of these with tzoo, but this is best by far, so far! Lovely place, setting, grounds, hotel , areas all lovely. Room 19 fab views, dual aspect. Furniture bit worn( if that bothers you) its a period hotel so expect this! Service staff excellent. They had peroni beer, our favourite. Choice of first 3 courses fish! Octopus i liked it, husband hates fish, we changed mackerel to wood pigeon ( i dont like ....well thought i didnt!) It was delicious, rich flavours,! Halibut next, delicious! Venison for, main, expertly cooked, so pink and velvety! Big portions for a taster menu. Sweets , there were 2! Panacotta fab, and an amazing choc frothy delight! About 2 half hours of eating! Nice peaceful sleep, good breakfast! Bargain! Def recommend ! Joy salini

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    123
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
74
294
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

DB&B via travel zoo .(£135)
Very impressed . Lovely setting . Excellent food . Good staff.
Upgraded our room ( glad , lovely view & Comfy king )and paid for the flight of wine ( £28 pp)
. Personally would have preferred smaller glass sizes and paid less. Bit of a headache next morning !
The wines would not have been our choice yet it was fun to try and most we really enjoyed with its pairing. Especially lived the welsh sparkling rose.
Enjoyed all the courses , first time for me to like pigeon.
V full by the end though .
Would definitely recommend and had a lovely day next morning visiting Tintern Abbey . Approx 30 mins away .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyonethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, Glos
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

another visit for the tasting menu - this time a party of 4 and still very good food but wine "flight" selection not to be recommended. Poor value and quality not at the food standard and service at breakfast a disappointment (but they were very busy!). So if you don't want watery tea and coffee and prefer toast and cutlery etc - ASK for it don't just sit quietly waiting. But the food is worth going for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masterchef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Welcoming staff on arrival Our room on second floor was warm, comfortable and spacious with dual aspect windows including views of the lake. Bathroom was clean, warm with heated towel rail and large bath towels. We had time for a walk round the grounds including a visit to the lovely little nearby church (key available at reception) and the hotel's kitchen garden. Pleasant bar areas and comfortable lounge with open fire to relax in if you do not want to stay in your room. Our deal included 7 course tasting menu and we were given plenty of choice of time to eat. We elected for 7pm and initially this felt like a mistake as dining room was empty but we were soon joined by other diners. We were shown menu in the bar as we enjoyed pre dinner drinks. The menu included items that are not particular favourites of mine; octopus, pigeon and venison but I decided to just go with it and I was very glad I did as I enjoyed everything and particularly the venison. In fact we both ate every mouthful of the first six courses but were finally defeated by the richness of the final chocolate cup pudding. We thought the portions were generous for a tasting menu. We choose to accompany the meal with the flight of five wines chosen to complement each dish. These went perfectly with the food and included interestng wines such as a Welsh Chardonnay and a lovely desert wine with the panacotta.. Our only criticism was the measures were a little too generous particularly as we had had a drink in the bar before dinner. I would have preferred 'tasting' glasses and a lower price. We spoke to another couple who had eaten there several times before who said they had the wine flight on their first visit but after that they chose from the wine list as the flight was just too much. This is a shame as it is interesting to try new and different wines and one wine will never suit such a diverse range of food over seven courses.
Our bed was comfortable but our room was a little too warm for a good nights sleep- we could not seem to reduce the output from the heater. The area is however quiet so you could open the windows. We heard no noise from other rooms or outside. Breakfast next morning was excellent- lovely bacon and sausage and plenty of alternatives for those who did not want a full breakfast. As with dinner, everything came on lovely hot plates and service was pleasant and friendly. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a spacious corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay and we had a great time. We booked through Travelzoo and upgraded to the bridal suite. The rooms are characterful but look tired and in need of some TLC.The 7 course taster menu was superb and the matching wine flight an excellent accompaniment. The service was first class- all staff were polite and accommodating - Charlotte in particular made us feel at home and her knowledge of wine encouraged us to try wines we wouldn't normally have chosen. We will be returning as soon as we can and have recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesSue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked a 2 night break for our anniversary through a Travel Zoo voucher which included a 7 course taster menu. The food was absolutely gorgeous and the staff were attentive and engaged. Breakfasts were included and there was a generous cold spread and a nice range of cooked options. We paid to upgrade to a superior room and although not ultra modern, it was comfortable. Overall a very enjoyable stay and with that lovely food, we would consider a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ward_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel last week and were delighted with the warm welcome, friendly staff and delicious food.

The seven course tasting dinner was superb. Surprisingly we were able to manage a lovely breakfast as well. Very convenient location for visiting the eastern side of the Beacons. Would be truly wonderful in better weather!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
19.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing