We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

A great hotel that really is in the middle of nowhere. The hotel itself was nice, the rooms also adequate, nothing really special though. What makes this hotel fantastic is both the staff and the food.
The staff could not do enough for you, attentive and genuine. The food was out of this world. We had the 7 course taster menu and it was a culinary experience that we both thought WOW. The courses were simply the best and the service as good. Breakfast was what one would usually expect of this class of hotel. Not a lot to do in the area for an overnight visit but the food was worth the travel. We would certainly go again and a big thank you to the staff

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    121
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
74
289
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just spent a lovely afternoon here as part of a large group having afternoon tea, food was lovely and plenty of it, staff very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble. Lovely setting, pity it was raining, the gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninetydaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We returned after eating here a couple of months ago and on that occasion everything was first class, we were also keen to dine again due to a recent award at the restaurant. Our return visit on Saturday evening was disappointing with a very average experience. The sea bass were minute portions, although I recommend the hake.
Our wine was literally plonked on the table, and we took the top off and helped ourselves.
There were plenty of staff around but some inexperienced working with little assistance in the restaurant. We were told it was a busy evening due to a large party of private diners.
Regrettably not an experience we'll be repeating for some time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janclem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a recent visit to the area.

17th century listed building, with elegantly-furnished public rooms. My room. with a view of the lake, was comfortable and more than adequate.

All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, and behaved as if they enjoyed their jobs.

Other reviewers have commented positively about the food, and I can only agree strongly. Six-course tasting menu with wine flight on the first evening, This was excellent, with the wines wide ranging and well matched. Some unusual choices among them, including a local - yes, local to Abergavenny - chardonnay, which was first class. The table d'hôte menu and a glass of Ironstone zinfandel on the second evening. Unusually and commendably, almost all the wines on the list are available by the glass at a price pro rata with the bottle price (ie a 175ml glass for a quarter the price of the bottle).

Breakfast was not up to the same standard as dinner. The buffet was poor. The cooked breakfast was, unusually, presented in 'fine dining' style, ie the food piled up in a tower - sausage and bacon on the bottom, tomato and fried bread in the middle and egg on top. In my view, It would have been better presented distributed on the plate in the usual way.. There was clearly a problem in the kitchen on the second morning of my stay. I came down to breakfast around 8am, and despite the dining room being open at 7.30am, I was told that the chef had not yet arrived but would 'be here shortly' to cook breakfast. Plenty of toast and coffee.

In many respects, this hotel deserves a rating of 5 ('excellent'), but I've rated it 4 in view of my breakfast experience. I would be very happy to stay here again if I'm in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank anorakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a travel zoo deal for an overnight stay and 7 course meal and a welsh breakfast. The food was fantastic and would highly recommend the restaurant. We will definitely be returning for food.

We stayed in a deluxe room but it was run down. I would expect an old fashioned themed room with the hotel being older but this is not where our disappointment was. The dressing table was in a poor condition, the carpets were stained/looked dirty and the appliances were very old. The hairdryer has turned yellow over the years.

The room was freezing when we checked in and struggled to get the electric heater to work. It did come on eventually.

Bathroom was nice and clean with a good selection of high quality products.

I'm giving the hotel 4 stars because the quality of the restaurant makes this hotel above average.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laur3njayn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
232 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Has the tzoo taster excellent offer! We have tried many of these with tzoo, but this is best by far, so far! Lovely place, setting, grounds, hotel , areas all lovely. Room 19 fab views, dual aspect. Furniture bit worn( if that bothers you) its a period hotel so expect this! Service staff excellent. They had peroni beer, our favourite. Choice of first 3 courses fish! Octopus i liked it, husband hates fish, we changed mackerel to wood pigeon ( i dont like ....well thought i didnt!) It was delicious, rich flavours,! Halibut next, delicious! Venison for, main, expertly cooked, so pink and velvety! Big portions for a taster menu. Sweets , there were 2! Panacotta fab, and an amazing choc frothy delight! About 2 half hours of eating! Nice peaceful sleep, good breakfast! Bargain! Def recommend ! Joy salini

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

DB&B via travel zoo .(£135)
Very impressed . Lovely setting . Excellent food . Good staff.
Upgraded our room ( glad , lovely view & Comfy king )and paid for the flight of wine ( £28 pp)
. Personally would have preferred smaller glass sizes and paid less. Bit of a headache next morning !
The wines would not have been our choice yet it was fun to try and most we really enjoyed with its pairing. Especially lived the welsh sparkling rose.
Enjoyed all the courses , first time for me to like pigeon.
V full by the end though .
Would definitely recommend and had a lovely day next morning visiting Tintern Abbey . Approx 30 mins away .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyonethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
19.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing