We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value friendly hostel”

Black Sheep Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Sheep Backpackers
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value friendly hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

An old railway hotel. Now a pub with hostel attached. Friendly service with a good pub atmosphere near Abergavenny railway station. Short wall from the town centre and a good base for an activity break. Plenty of places to eat so didn't use the kitchen . Cash only.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepsebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    10
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

You have to stay at this hostel if you want to stay at a "Welsh" backpackers. Everything about it is great. It's in an old building, so of course it's quite run down, but the experience of it all is worth putting up with faulty windows and uneven flooring. The beds are really comfortable and the showers are hot. The owners are also very friendly and always there to answer your questions, help you with something or just there for a chat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Ten of us stayed at this hostel from Friday 4 May to Monday 7 May so we had a base for walking in the Black Mountains. The first problem we encountered was one of parking. ( not a problem for true hikers or overseas backpacking visitors) There is only free parking space for 3 average size cars directly in front of the hostel. There is a small station pay and display car park opposite at a quite resonable £2.60 per day but this means renewing tickets regularly, there are yellow lines elsewhere.
The first impression of the hostel is one of it requiring some decorative and practical maintenance, although it is quite comfortable inside for an average laid back person! The kitchen is in the basement and is basic but very useable. Cereals & toast is included in the price but we found that a cooked breakfast could be had for a small additional charge; very welcome if one is hill walking.

The owners couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful, particularly as 6 of our party were actually double booked on Saturday night. They put us up in their own home some 12 miles away on that night and transported us to and from the hostel. Very kind and thoughtful and much appreciated!
I can recommend this hostel wholeheartedly, although, after reading some reviews before our trip I did have some misgivings. As long as a visitor is not expecting luxury you should not be disappointed, the beer is good, the staff are friendly and helpful and the countryside is lovely.
The centre of Abergavenny is a 15 minute walk and the Weatherspoon Pub, the Coliseum seems to be the hub of the town at night particularly at weekends, when there seems to be a proliferation of Hen nights!

Room Tip: Room 5 sleeps 7 and is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend recently & overall it was a lovely hotel attached to a pub which was also very pleasant.
We stayed in the only double room with en-suite for £40/night. The room was very comfortable & clean. However, unfortunately it rained during the night & we were kept awake by the very loud dripping from the chimney which was open at the top & boarded up at the base. The water hitting the board at the base made a surprisingly loud noise which was impossible to sleep through! Unfortunately we weren't able to speak to the owners about it the next morning as we couldn't find them when we were leaving.
As mentioned in a previous review breakfast is a do-it-yourself job, but I actually really liked that & everything needed was provided.
Generally, We'd recommend this hostel as it was very friendly & comfortable - just avoid the double room if it's raining!
Oh - another thing, it's also called "The Great Western Hotel" :)

Room Tip: Not room 1 - the double room - when it's raining, unless the owners sort out the dripping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and I would not stay there again. The room with ensuite bathroom quite obviously had not been properly cleaned before I moved in, which was quite disgusting. The toilet and the shower both weren't working properly.
During the first night every 2 minutes or so you heard a beep from the corridor which was no good for sleeping. When I mentioned it the next morning to a member of staff she said "Oh that's ok, that's only the fire alarm" - not the right response - and when I insisted it was not ok, she said she would mention it. It was then fixed that day, turns out the battery of the fire alarm was low and that's why it was beeping... I got catcalls from customers in the pub, so although I think it can be nice to have a pub attached to your hostel, I had no desire to have a drink in this particular pub. The kitchen facilities were not great and the breakfast included in the room price consisted of Tesco milk in the fridge and Tesco cornflakes on a kitchen shelf, to help yourself. I have stayed in B&Bs which charged less and had much better breakfast and nicer rooms. The reception only accepts cash payment.
It's quite a shame because the house is nice and it's directly opposite the train station, so it could be a good place to stay, but I am afraid it's not well run and well managed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abergavenny hotels

california
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

Overall this was a good hostel, and I enjoyed my stay very much. I liked that it had its own pub, a down stairs kitchen, clean rooms, and pretty good showers. Staff was friendly and nice. Even though there was a pub, we were able to sleep very well. Good location.

  • Liked — nice facilities
  • Disliked — bar menu
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Great Western
The Great Western
#29 of 30 in Abergavenny
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Derwen
Plas Derwen
#7 of 30 in Abergavenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.4 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sheep Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sheep Backpackers

Property: Black Sheep Backpackers
Address: 24 Station Road, Abergavenny NP7 5HS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Black Sheep Backpackers Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing