We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean and friendly - but nothing very special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean and friendly - but nothing very special”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I echo all previous comments that Carol (and her family) are very friendly and helpful hosts. The location is excellent - stunning views yet close to main road so easy to find and access. This is a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay.

However, I was looking for something really special for a trip away with my husband, and based on previous reviews I thought I'd found the perfect spot. As it was, my husband wasn't able to join me due to unforeseen circumstances and I'm almost quite glad since this wouldn't have been a romantic getaway. I was in the Blorenge Room, which was spacious. However the windows rattled in the wind so I had to pad them with tissues, the furnishings were uninspired, and I awoke every time one of the other guests came out of their bedroom to use their bathroom across the hall (doors didn't close quietly). The breakfast was fair, and I applaud the use of local ingredients. However, the dining room overlooks the cowshed and with the windows open all I could smell was the unpleasant farm smell. I fully understand this is a working farm and the implications of that, but those smells whilst eating really weren't nice.

In summary, there are a lot of nice things about this B&B but it is fairly average - I have stayed in much better.

Room Tip: Blorenge is a spacious double with new en-suite and nice views over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that the stay fell short of your
expectations. We will take on board your comments about the sash windows and
doors and will call our contractor in the morning to address the issues you
have raised.

Many Thanks
Carol and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
87
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Before we even stepped into this charming farmhouse my partner and I were already smitten by the views. Carol offered us a wonderfully warm welcome and kindly provided us with tea (and perfect Welsh cakes!) on arrival and showed us to our room. I cannot overstate how amazing the view from our (Room 2 - Blorenge Room) room was - just breathtaking. Everything was very comfortable and well apportioned. The bathroom was very new and the shower was great. Full use of local produce was made at the breakfast table with the full English representing a feast for those that like their bacon and sausage - the quality was superb. Carol, you'll be seeing us again!

Room Tip: Room 2 - Blorenge Room has quite simply amazing views of the Brecon Beacons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoddie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many Thanks for your very kind review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with use, and we look forward to welcoming you back one day!
Best wishes
Carol and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Blorenge Room, which was very well appointed with every detail thought of, including fresh milk in a flask to keep it cool. Carol was very welcoming and we were greeted with a pot of fresh tea and a slice of home made sponge cake on our arrival. The breakfasts were absolutely superb, with a lovely bowl of fresh fruit, apple juice from a nearby farm, and local suppliers used for all the produce where possible. We spent the weekend walking in the local area, and Carol lent us her books and maps to help us plan our walks. She could not have done any more to make our stay more enjoyable, and we thoroughly recommend Hardwick Farm to anyone looking for a B&B near Abergavenny.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks you so much for your very kind review, it was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully one day we will meet again
Best wishes carol and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we arrived the heavens opened and it poured down, but this didn't deter Carol from coming out to greet us, plus she moved her car so we could park in the best possible place.
She then showed us our room - The Blorenge Room - which was large and well appointed with a very comfortable super king sized bed and two very comfy armchairs. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean and we had a lovely view of the Blorenge mountain from our window. Carol's breakfasts are superb, the bowl of fresh raspberries and blueberries was lovely and the full Welsh was delicious, totally non greasy and very well presented.
If you want to go and see the cows in their shed and see the very modern automatic milking apparatus she even provides plastic overshoes for you! The 140 cows are very quiet - ie they don't moo - and this is because they are happy and can eat and be milked whenever they feel like it. We walked to Plas Derwen in the evenings, an excellent local pub/restaurant just 1/2 mile away. Carol is a lovely friendly person who makes you feel like a valued guest. We will definitely come back here the next time we visit Abergavenny.

Room Tip: The Blorenge room is at the back of the house, facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write us this lovely review, and we are so glad we helped to make your stay so enjoyable. hopefully we will see you again one day when you passing this way.
With thanks
Carol & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at Hardwick Farm, beautifully run by the loveliest landlady we've ever met, CAROL. Although we didn't arrive until at least 10pm she was ready and waiting with such a friendly greeting and nothing was too much trouble. After returning from a 9.5 mile walk in the afternoon the next day, she provided tea and home made cake - such a lovely surprise! The rooms were spotless and well provided with tea and coffee and FRESH milk, thoughtfully provided in a flask to keep it cool. The breakfasts were huge and delicious. Carol's recommendation for dinner at the Crown in Pantygellin was brilliant (see the separate review) and her daughter, Anna, husband Percy and granddaughter Lucia were equally friendly and welcoming. We will definitely stay there again. Thank you Carol.

Room Tip: This is a working farm with real animals - lovely, but you'd need to keep a good eye on small ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review for us, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you would love to come back. Hopefully we will see you again when you are on your travels in this area
With Thanks
Carol & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We'd promised our American friends a trip to Wales and our choice of accommodation could not have been better. This is a really excellent B&B and Carol and her family made us feel so welcome. The bedrooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and substantial. Our friend, Wayne, really enjoyed his insight into the modern milking methods and his brief tour of the farm with Cyril.
We shall definitely recommend and hope to make a return visit soon.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anned1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about us, we are so pleased we help make your trip to Wales a good one, if would be lovely to see you again one day in the near future
with thanks
Carol & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My partner & I stayed here over Easter.We had a very warm welcome with homemade cake awaiting us in our room on arrival. Very comfortable room with all we could ask for. Breakfast was of excellent quaility ,quantity & choice. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbmLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwickfarm, Owner at Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to write you lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again one day
With Thanks
Carol & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
1.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
861 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
310 reviews
4.1 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Hardwick, Abergavenny NP7 9BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing