We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Plas Derwen

The Plas Derwen
Ranked #38 of 111 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely stay, but in need of tender loving care, inside and out. Looks unloved, however staff, atmosphere, food and comfort second to none, please spend some money on it to bring it back to life.

Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas D, General Manager at The Plas Derwen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jacqui, thank you for your comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel welcome, we will pass your comments back to head office and hope to see you again in the future, kind regards Kate Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want good food at good prices the Plas Derwen is a good place to go. It is very comfortable and has different rooms in which to eat. I winter there is a roaring log fire and welcoming sofas to relax with a drink.

Thank davies443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location easy to find, clean and tidy, great food, friendly staff, spacious rooms, good value for money

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, General Manager at The Plas Derwen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with wife, son and daughter in law for Sunday lunch. Inside, pleasant and comfortabl - outside I thought gardens could do with some TIC. Ordered the Sunday mixed meat platter - which was quite well prepared and cooked - and was good value for money. Veg was rather watery however - but still quite enjoyable. Service was prompt and courteous. Bar prices especially for the soft drinks were, I thought, expensive - I believe a bottle of diet Sprite or it may have been 7 Up was £2.60. Would I go there again? Yes. All I all pleasant but not outstanding as I had led to be believed by friends who go there quite often

Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, General Manager at The Plas Derwen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, i will be sure to pass comments on to head office. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited on many occasions and always received good food and service, however very disappointing on latest visit. I opted for the gammon and did not want to eat chips and asked for a jacket potato as alternative - they don’t do jacket potatoes!! I then opted for a salad which was the most basic, a few rocket leaves (out of a packet) a tomato sliced and loads of slices of red onion. The gammon tasted lovely but apart from that basic. My husband had the burger which was nice, the only word I can describe as it was nothing special. Would I go back - not for food.

Thank Gaynor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Manager at The Plas Derwen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, any feedback is used to improve all our services.
Firstly allow me to apologise for any failings in your visit, I will be forwarding your feedback to our head office on the matters raised.

Please feel free to contact myself directly on 01873 853 144

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plas Derwen also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Llanwenarth, Abergavenny
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing