We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Good to Be True --- But It Is!”
Review of The Farmers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms
Ranked #20 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“To Good to Be True --- But It Is!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

How good it felt to be welcomed by all the staff on duty, Just popped in from the market held on a Tues to have a drink with friends,The lounge is large,so plenty of space ,clean, just quiet music in background, Staff ! well ! what can i say about such Great observent people, Nothing gets past their gaze, so when they see something that needs sorting eg empty glass's,asked if we would like another pot of tea (no extra charge) .
Didnt try the food, but we will be back,make no mistake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Athan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Booked this accommodation for our party to stay overnight following a wedding. What a warm welcome we had from the owner and bar manager. The rooms were spacious (huge), clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was brilliant - almost too much. Plenty of tea and coffee, too. We will certainly book here again when we next visit Abergavenny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We fell upon this place and the menu outside drew us in.
We were the only people there and I had pie of the day which was beef and guiness and my husband had gammon.
The food was beautiful.
It was hot, fresh, tasty and hit the spot.
I had a cup of tea and the owner topped my pot up with water to make it just right.
The cost was very reasonable as well.
Really pleased with our find.

Ate out twice further this weekend and this was by far the best of the places we ate.

A definite place to revisit.

Room Tip: You have to go off the beaten track to find this place - but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mobsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stopped in here to ask for a room and was greeted by the bar manager who was friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and the bed was very comfy. I ate in and had a tasty meal after speaking with the chef, he also did a great blueberry tart. Speak with him to see what his specialties are. Both chef and bar manager were full of good local knowledge and were great company, I enjoyed my stay.
All up a great find in a sweet town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
861 reviews
4.4 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 30 in Abergavenny
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deri-Down Guest House
Deri-Down Guest House
#10 of 30 in Abergavenny
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Property: The Farmers Arms
Address: 34 Lion Street, Abergavenny NP7 5NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmers Arms has been completely refurbished over the past year. We offer en-suite rooms with flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and tea and coffee facilities.We also produce good quality food which is locally sourced to the best of our ability. We are situated opposite the historic Abergavenny cattle market in the centre of town - a large, well lit council run car park is available 50 yards from the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Farmers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Arms Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing