We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime call” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Bar & Restaurant

Auberge Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 99 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Auberge Bar and Restaurant is a great venue for both eating and drinking. It not only boasts a brilliant menu at unbeatable prices but also is home to the amazing Hush Garden, a unique garden area wonderfully designed to be unlike any other beer garden you have ever been too. Serving food everyday of the week from 10am and home to brilliant DJ's from all over the country every Friday and Saturday night Auberge Bar and Restaurant is a real experience for all ages any day of the week!
south wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunchtime call”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Market day at Abergavenny on pleasant late April day. Almost all the cafes and restaurants at the top end of town were very busy, so my wife and I wandered down to the lower part of the mainstreet and came across the Auberge. From the outside it looks (and is) a modern trendy establishment and appears to be the type of place that younger members of the community might inhabit, until we saw through the window, there were a fair number of the more senior age group sat at the tables.
So we thought, let's give it a try! Glad we did!
The very friendly young staff made us feel very welcome, and looking at the menu, there was a good selection of dishes available, so we placed our order at the bar and sat at a vacant window table.
Our meals were served within 10 minutes, and it proved to be a very satisfying meal indeed.
Cooked well and presented well, although my one (minor) gripe was, that having ordered an American Burger, i wish that it had been served on a plate, rather than on a narrow wooden board, as a burger can be a bit messy!
That apart, I can fully recommend this establishment as a place to enjoy a lovely lunch,(£15 including drinks), served well by the exceptionally polite and friendly staff. Well done Auberge!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceiberboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    12
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We only had sandwiches but they were very nice, well presented with homemade sides. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the service was fast. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chappy568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A* for the Auberge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My friends and I love the Auberge. The nightlife is great, wonderful cocktail menu and the VIP huts are great to book when there's a group of you. We usually end up following our night out with food the following day and the Auberge is always a winner. The food is presented to a very high standard and at a reasonable price! In particular, the burgers are great. I would definitely recommend it as the place to go in Abergavenny!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraLiz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Experience eating at the Restaraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This restaurant is at the lower end of Frogmore street on the right-hand side heading out to the Hereford Road. Recently refurbished in a modern style with plenty of different seating areas to choose from. A very pleasant atmosphere awaits you as soon as you step through the door. The staff were very friendly as was the owner of the establishment.
The menu is very good offering a choice of light snacks to burger based meals with salads or chips or you can opt for a more formal meal, my Wife and I had the beef dinner which was presented on the plate in different bowls with side salad with chips or rice again in a separate dish, the beef pieces were cooked perfect. and what about the price you might ask?. Very. very well priced at about £6.50p each. The wine (Pino Gricio) very good and kept nice and cool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank williamshoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely unexpected surprise Great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Called into the bar and lounge a couple if weeks ago only to find the they have just had a refurbishment which looks great
We had a love let meal that was well presented they got it right her
All the little things are just so to make it that little bit special see you again very soon thanks

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Auberge Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing