We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit, definitely not the last.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luigi's Cafe

Luigi's Cafe
Ranked #16 of 99 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First visit, definitely not the last.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

On a recent visit to Abergavenny with friends, we called in for a 'cuppa' and a cake. What a pleasant surprise ! Excellent tea and scones, friendly service, comfortable seating and reasonable prices. We have visited Abergavenny on a number of occasions, can't understand why we had never visited Luigi's before. Will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stopped here on a Sunday afternoon on Mother's Day while shopping with my daughter (aged 8).

Lovely choice of food. Daughter ordered an Omelette which they did with only 2 eggs considering her age and knocked £2 off the price.
I had the sunday lunch which left me pleasantly surprised considering this is a cafe.

We both ordered cakes for dessert and are still a arguing over whose cake was the best (mine)! But both were beautiful.

Prices are brill and staff are friendly and welcoming.
Would recommend to anyone stopping for a spot of lunch and wants good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An original family run business, most welcoming, friendly and extensive menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Luigi's is one of the few traditional, authentic family run business's left in Abergavenny. no matter if you have just popped in for a drink or a full meal, you are always made to feel so welcome by the warm friendly service. my family and I have been going here for years and will continue to do so for many more years I hope. it recently been refurbished including the toilets which both look fab, it has such a wide selection of menu choice, great price and value, especially when you see their portion sizes. there is nothing not to like A1!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nataziamorganza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and superb...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

An institution in Abergavenny - a great place to meet up, with a nice mix of people. The fact it's open on a Sunday is a definite bonus. Roast dinners are available, but also a full range of othert choices, or just a snack and a cake if you prefer.

Atmosphere laid back, but service excellent, be prepared for a generous helping. My omelette was made to order (the options in the menu are just a guideline, you can mix and match!) and was sumptuous and spectacular. Quite simply omelette-making taken to a new level...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Lovely little diner. Decor is very nice and the staff were friendly. We stopped in for a bit of lunch and had their sausage and mash in a Yorkshire pud and drinks. The food was only £5 for a good lunch sized portion. Very nearly ended up going there for every day of our trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luigi's Cafe also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Luigi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing