We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High standard cottage in lovely secluded spot”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio
Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
KItchen in Rectory Cottage
Looking into Kitchen/Sitting Room of Rectory Cottage
Sitting Room in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1 in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 and en-suite bathroom
Bathroom in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 2
Looking into Rectory Cottage patio
Patio
The garden in bloom
Enter a caption for your photo
View towards the River Usk
Peppa enjoying the view towards the River Usk
Collecting eggs
Sunrise view to the River Usk
A frosty morning at the River Usk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ainsa59
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High standard cottage in lovely secluded spot”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at rectory cottage for a weekend whilst visiting family in Wales. Fantastic little cottage for an escape. The cottage is spotlessly clean with all modern facilities with a very high standard of finish. The cottage maybe small but is laid out really well and there was ample space for two adults and our teenage daughter. The little enclosed courtyard was perfect for our little dog and fantastic quiet country lanes for walking. Thank you for the home baked bread and free range eggs on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JA392014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just come back from a fantastic stay at The Old Rectory Cottage. The area is just beautiful, stunning countryside, with a lovely little church next door and small farm nearby - picture postcard and very peaceful. The cottage itself is spotless, beautifully done and very cosy. The bread, eggs and milk on our arrival was a lovely touch. Our 3 children (6yrs, 2yrs and 11mnths) had the best time and our eldest was very sad indeed to leave, as were we all. We had a very quiet car journey home! The kids loved the garden with the chickens, the trampoline, a tree swing and more. They loved spotting rabbits in the fields in the morning, the lambs on the farm and the two resident dogs were a huge hit.

But the main reason our stay was so memorable .. the lovely owners. Liz, Kate and the kids were incredibly welcoming and kind.

Highly recommend

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maya D
Kortemark, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Rectory Cottage for the first two weeks of September and were made to feel extremely welcome by Kate and Liz, who very kindly supplied us with a welcome basket of freshly laid eggs and home made bread upon arrival. The cottage itself was spacious and immaculately clean and our little Yorkshire terrier relished the opportunity to play with Liz's dog Pepper. The cottage itself was well stocked with pots, pans and utensils, and I very much appreciated the soothing bubble bath - being 7 months pregnant at the time, it was sheer bliss to wallow in such luxury - thank you so much Liz! :)

I celebrated my 30th birthday during our stay and Kate and Liz gave me a little bag of goodies and a beautiful card, which was so very sweet of them both. Thank you both again.

My husband and I received some very sad news during our stay. Both Kate and Liz were wonderful, so supportive and helpful. We were very grateful to have them on hand and we greatly appreciated Liz's extra treat of freshly baked bread. We are both very moved by the amount of kindness and generosity that Liz and Kate showed us during our stay and we will, without doubt, keep in touch. We will definitely be returning, the location is stunning and the cottage itself is perfect. Thank you both so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Maya and Gert x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the scenery, the kindess and generosity of the owners.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope very much you will return. We can't wait to hear news of the addition to your family. With very best wishes, Kate and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine B
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcome to Wales”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As you approach this property at the end of the village the directions on their website begin to make perfect sense.
This was a little piece of luxury - a relaxing idyll away from the hustle and bustle of town. The cottage was clean and well laid out with those little touches that made it comfortable and homely. Liz and Kate were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Their welcome was warm and friendly and the welcoming pack was most 'welcome' given the length of our journey.
We chose The Rectory as they accepted dogs and ours was made to feel equally at home as we humans were!
The area is stunning and this cottage was ideally situated for exploring castles and the Brecons, but with some lovely local walks too.
For families there is access to a garden with toys and friendly chickens.
All in all a lovely place which we will be using again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm and friendly reception
Liked least: Intermittent wifi inside the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words and the ones in the Visitor's book. We much look forward to seeing you again one day and Becky of course too.Best wishes Liz and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGH28
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great property in a very quite location which has easy access to "A" roads nearby.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Vicki and I spent two nights in the cottage, along with her brother Geoffrey. Facilities are excellent and we had milk, bread and eggs (fresh laid by Kate's chickens) provided when we arrived. This is a great location and we were able get to the Brecon Beacons in less than 30 minutes. Strongly recommended and we will try and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location
Liked least: Stay was too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
Thank you for your kind words - it was lovely to meet you and hope the rest of your trip in the UK and France will be good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rin S
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step out of the rat race and into rural R&R”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

What an incredible place to stop and unwind! Rectory Cottage is absolutely gorgeous, and full of everything you could need for a comfortable stay in the country - TV, cooking facilities, comfy sofa, and even a selection of DVDs and board games to keep you entertained. Of course, it is the surrounding countryside that really sells this place and we so enjoyed walking through the fields - just at the right time of year to watch the baby lambs gambolling! - and down by the river, skimming stones and just enjoying the sheer beauty of nature. We weren't able to stay at Rectory Cottage long, but it was just the break we needed from our busy lives and we'd love to come back as soon as we can - not least to say hi to Liz and Kate and the boys, who are such lovely hosts: friendly, welcoming and with a genuine desire to make your stay a great one. Highly recommended all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous countryside surroundings
Liked least: Not being able to stay for long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Thank you so much, what a wonderful review that makes us feel we must be doing something right! Please come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and facilities
Liked least: The holiday flat met all expectations
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I do hope you can return soon.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing